The Nelson Touch (Ark Royal II–available now!)

22 Mar

Just in time for my birthday!

Ark Royal – the Royal Navy’s outdated space carrier – has won a smashing victory against the enigmatic aliens, capturing one of their starships and returning to Earth. Now, Admiral Theodore Smith and his crew are assigned to command a fleet charged with making a deep-penetration raid into alien territory, a fleet made up of carriers from four different nations.

But with a crewman who isn’t what he seems, untested pilots and international friction – and a new and dangerous alien plan – can Ted and his crew survive their mission … or will they die, alone and unremarked, hundreds of light years from home?

[Like my other self-published Kindle books, The Nelson Touch is DRM-free. You may reformat it as you choose. Download a Free Sample, then buy it from Amazon here.]

39 Responses to “The Nelson Touch (Ark Royal II–available now!)”

  1. Dave March 23, 2014 at 12:06 am #

    Bought it – hope it is as good as the first one

  2. David Matthewson March 23, 2014 at 10:24 am #

    Happy birthday! – and wow, don’t you write fast!

    Off to buy it….

  3. Damian Stawiński March 23, 2014 at 8:50 pm #

    Happy birthday!

    • chrishanger March 23, 2014 at 11:59 pm #

      Thank you!

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  4. Norm March 23, 2014 at 9:54 pm #

    Just finished the Nelson Touch. Outstanding read. I would like the next book to continue the main story lines their than shift back to earth.

    • chrishanger March 23, 2014 at 11:59 pm #

      Thank you! Please review the book (grin)

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  5. James Faust March 24, 2014 at 4:04 am #

    Happy birthday! I just finished the Nelson Touch. Great sequel. I would prefer to keep the storyline going with the next book. After the last page with the Prince I have to know what happens next.

  6. Daniel Silver March 24, 2014 at 2:38 pm #

    Reviewed, I would like to see the storyline continue. Especially with that bit at the end.

  7. Tom M. March 25, 2014 at 2:19 am #

    Enjoyed the read. I’ll go against the grain and look forward to reading about the Battle for Earth next. Enjoy a cliffhanger and can wait for part 3 – the Earth sequel would help with enhancing the background to the series IMHO.

  8. Joel Li March 31, 2014 at 8:51 am #

    Great work Sir. Got the Ark Royal and was hooked on the book. Got Schooled in Magic and sure enough, it was a joy to read.

    To answer your question, please do book 3, continuing the story instead of doing a side story.

    Also I request. Please don’t drag the current main story out too long. I love multiple arch/scenarios story telling that have a clear start and end but still in the same universe rather then one long never ending arc. Maybe finish Nelson’s story and move on the Jame, 5 years later, have another arch on the defense of earth, etc, etc. Just a request, anything you do will probably be good.

    Lastly When is Schooled in Magic Part 2 coming out. While I want book 3 of Ark Royal, I also very keen on Schooled in Magic Part 2. Can both be released soon.

    Sadly while it takes months to write a good book, horrible people like me burn through them within a day or a few short days.

  9. John March 31, 2014 at 7:45 pm #

    Wanted to thank you. This Texan was snooping around amazon for something to occupy my mind. I am fairly new to the genre but I wanted to say I’m excited that I get to say I’m an early fan of yours. I sincerely hope you have as much fun writing it as I did reading it.

  10. Bill April 3, 2014 at 4:11 pm #

    Thanks again for a great read and followup from Ark Royal, I must agree with others who posted that I would prefer the 3rd installment in the series rather than a side story on earth at this time ( you would also make me very happy with a third visit to Bookworm….).
    I Have been reading in this genre since before you were born (Happy birthday by the way) I truly enjoy your work and feel it belongs with some of the masters of the Scifi/fantasy’s efforts.

  11. George A. April 3, 2014 at 9:01 pm #

    This maybe a bit late looking at your reply to Bill, April 3, 2014 at 4:11 pm #, but suffice it to say I am with the Book III vote. It may seem strange but it was the name ‘Ark Royal’ that grabbed me first having served for 25 years in the Royal Navy. I can feel for her crew even if it is along way in the future. Keep the series going on the Ark Royal.

  12. Rob Owen April 4, 2014 at 4:17 pm #

    Just read Ark Royal & The Nelson Touch. I’d dearly like to read episode 3 and follow matters chronologically, although I can see the benefit of slipping in a story about events back on Earth while the action in The Nelson Touch took place before continuing developments with the alien conflict.

    Either way I’m looking forward to the next publication in this series and I’ll explore your other offerings in the meantime.

  13. Anders Gregersen April 4, 2014 at 7:33 pm #

    Just finished The Nelson Touch and I can’t wait for book III

  14. Geoff Shoun April 10, 2014 at 4:18 pm #

    How can I purchase the story in RTF, as I don’t want (or afford!) a Kindle.

  15. Gary Callen April 20, 2014 at 7:47 pm #

    Just got done reading The Nelson Touch and enjoyed it very much. Like a lot of the others I would rather see installment 3 of the Ark Royal series instead of a side trip to earth.

  16. Kevin King April 21, 2014 at 5:19 am #

    Great book! Thanks for writing the first books I ever read on my new Kindle. Like everyone else I would prefer you to write book 3 before doing a side story into the Battle of Earth

    • chrishanger April 21, 2014 at 8:36 pm #

      It will be done (grin)

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  17. Ian Cameron-Mowat April 21, 2014 at 12:42 pm #

    loved it. About time the Royal Navy appeared in the vacuum. Let’s have book III.
    Suggestion: if you want to change the pace and add a little sweaty realism, John Ringo’s books contain the grunt experience.

    • chrishanger April 21, 2014 at 8:37 pm #

      Thank you! Book III is on the way,

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  18. Chris April 22, 2014 at 11:33 pm #

    Book 3 please, I would like to call you all kinds of names for that cliffhanger fisrt though … you nasty man you 😛

    loving your books though i have so far read through quite a few of them. Working through empires Corps. Finished learnig experience the other day, it was my first one 😀

    Many thanks, and please write more 😀

  19. Den May 7, 2014 at 9:14 pm #

    Book 3 for me…. Wind it up though. I started watching Lost (remember that? .. Is it still going?) but it got lost and I abandoned.

Leave a comment