Going Up, Going Live

9 Oct

This isn’t really an Ask A Writer post, not in the sense that someone sent me a question. But it did come from questions fired at me when The Zero Curse was going live – why, for example, did it take so long for certain things to go online.

Basically, the process goes like this:

First, the manuscript and cover are uploaded to Amazon Kindle and distributed around the different sub-systems (COM, CO.UK, etc). It generally takes around 8-24 hours for the file to go live on all of the servers, which is why it sometimes appears on one server fairly quickly and takes longer for others. When this process is complete, I get an email telling me so – that’s when I update the website and blog, then send out a general email, etc.

Second, Amazon starts to link the new manuscript to my author name. For some reason, the system isn’t always very good at recognising links between one name and another – ‘Christopher Nuttall’ is sometimes classed as a different person to ‘Christopher G. Nuttall’ – and it can take time for the links to bed in. I speed this up a little by telling Amazon – through the Author Central dashboard – that I own the book.

Third, Amazon links the manuscript to other books in the series. People who looked at The Zero Curse shortly after it was uploaded didn’t see a link to The Zero Blessing because Amazon had yet to update the links between Book I and Book II. There are occasionally also hiccups caused by misspellings, but I think I managed to keep everything consistent.

Fourth, Amazon starts noting that people who bought Book I also bought Book II. This takes longer because no one bought The Zero Curse until the book was actually available – no one could purchase it until it went live. This is a slower process because – as I understand it – the system has to gather data before it can start offering ‘if you liked this, you might like’ deals. It does work quicker in reverse – someone who bought The Zero Blessing when it first came out might be noted as having done so – but that’s less efficient.

Fifth, Amazon sends out its own notifications to people who follow me.

Audio and paperback versions go live when they’re up and running – again, sometimes it takes time to link the three formats together.

Hopefully, this makes some sense <grin>

Chris

7 Responses to “Going Up, Going Live”

  1. Keith October 9, 2017 at 11:21 pm #

    Thanks for the explanation. I always laugh at how long it takes Amazon to tell me about a new book. It is usually a week or two after release. I personally use author alarms and they usually notify me within 6-12 hours of the release.

    • chrishanger October 11, 2017 at 4:47 pm #

      They like getting everything in line first .

      Chris

  2. Thomas Tomiczek October 10, 2017 at 7:16 pm #

    But you forget the main reason for all the delays.

    You take too much time writing the books 😉 For example Graduation Day. I expected it to be finished – around 2 years ago 😉 You simply do not leave Amazon enough time.

    No, seriously – keep up the great work. You managed to become this reader’s favorite author.

  3. ioriangel October 11, 2017 at 11:39 pm #

    Hey Chris I totally understand why is it taking so long, well we are waiting for graduation day but know it will be here when it will be here. I can’t wait for it.

    • Pyo October 13, 2017 at 1:44 am #

      What vaguely surprises me sometimes is that sometimes author don’t really seem to care. Novels are mis-categorized, or series not properly connected, or …

      I get that it’s probably a chore if it doesn’t work as expected right away, but it seems like they’d lose readers that way, and I’d assume it’s overall still not much work to set up these things compared to writing an entire book, so it seems odd not to make the effort, and a bit of a shame, too, if some good novels get overlooked for something like this.

      • chrishanger October 16, 2017 at 3:07 pm #

        It depends. It took quite some time to notice one particular problem, then I had a great deal of trouble reproducing it for Amazon.

        Chris

    • chrishanger October 16, 2017 at 3:01 pm #

      The plan is December, but it depends on the editing, cover, etc.

      Chris

Leave a Reply

