Quick Update …

2 Oct

Hi, everyone

The good news is that I completed the first draft of Graduation Day yesterday. I’ve refrained from posting a snippet because it is a major spoiler for TGK, although (now I’ve figured out how to use spoiler tags) I should be able to post it without spoiling too much. It’s an attempt at tying up a number of plotlines, while pushing Emily out into the wider world …

My current plan is basically to write Alassa’s Tale in early December, then The Princess In The Tower somewhere in February or March. However, various events may throw my planned schedule out of shape. Alassa’s Tale is not planned as anything more than a small novella anyway, so hopefully it won’t be too badly delayed. Basically, it’ll set the scene for TPITT.

I’ve not quite decided on a title for SIM16 – the provisional title is The Queen’s Throne or something along those lines. I’ve given considerable thought to turning it into a multi-character story, as – unlike The Sergeant’s Apprentice – there is a lot to be gained from having multiple POV characters. On the other hand, that is something of a break from tradition …

What do you think?

Chris_final1 crual stars

The planned schedule remains unchanged: The Cruel Stars in October, Cat’s Paw in November. I may change the title of Cat’s Paw – it is fairly close to Cat <grin>, but – at the same time – it is the title that fits. Hum … what about The Lie of the Land? Yes, I know; Doctor Who got there first. (A very forgettable episode – I had to Bing it.) Or The Written Lie? Thoughts?

Chris

28 Responses to “Quick Update …”

  1. Vapori October 2, 2017 at 5:13 pm #

    Well I think that the name the queens throne is to obvious.

    For making it multpov it would be interesting to know what povs you want to include.
    For ones things are often more surprising with just a single pov and Emilys pov is kinda a tradition by now.
    But getting one of Emilys friends or enemies or maybe a mostly neutral side as a pov might be interesting..

    Sir Rogger of the Greenwood or Baroness Alicia may be very interesting povs.
    But so would be Jade, Alassa or Imaiqah and be it just so that we could see how they view Emily.

    • Danna Micoletti October 2, 2017 at 6:09 pm #

      If, after Graduation Day, Emily is thrown into the wider world, there’s many major plot lines that I can’t think can be resolved in one book. Off the top of my head, there’s still the Necromaners, then Hearts Eye, Apprenticeship with Void, Dragons (and we haven’t heard a peep from them but they must still be watching Emily like in Work Experience), there’s the oath to the Faeiries, The White Council, there’s Emily’s Barony, Benefince and what was decided at the end of Fists of Justice, The Demons prophecies and we know they will come back into play, a whole continent that has been mentioned and what could be there, there’s other “Lone Powers” out there. Plus Time and Again, Emily has survived repeated attempts to kill her and she’s come out alive. Even when they came after her “sideways” (Shepard’s saying from movie Serenity). That’s Assassins and then covert, what’s left is basically attacking with an armies to get rid of her. So YES! different POVs are really necessary to cover the breadth of the stories because it’s now way more complicated with way more players in the game. and then there’s The Harrowing what or who are they/them.

  2. Pyo October 2, 2017 at 6:34 pm #

    I don’t usually like multi-POV. Near always I end up with one POV I quite like (which is practically guaranteed to be Emily here, since, you know, that’s what I’m reading the series for) while the rest is either boring or feels like some sort “information feeder service” to supplement the main heroine instead of POVs in their right, with their own agenda and their own, independent story.

    Plus, changing the policy on this so late in the series would feel a bit odd to me (SIM is, to me, Emily’s story first and foremost). I mean, there’s been some chapters here or there, which I don’t necessarily like, but, eh, it’s no big deal either way, but that’s a different thing from a POV through the entire novel.

    I just usually feel closer to some protagonist if it’s single POV and I have the same amount of information as they do. With multi-POV, I start having more knowledge, and the plot becomes easier for me to follow than for them, which isn’t always a good idea.

    But of course I don’t really know the content of the book so if it’s actually necessary, well, what can I say? You gotta do what you have to do 😉

  3. bretwallach October 2, 2017 at 7:23 pm #

    Pyo makes a good point – that I always end up with a favorite POV in multi-POV stories, and sometimes the non-favorite POVs are annoying to me.

    On the other hand, after so many books written from Emily’s POV, I am starting to tire of seeing everything through her eyes and thoughts and some fresh perspectives might be welcome.

  4. Fushi October 2, 2017 at 8:06 pm #

    I personally enjoy multiple perspective books significantly less, even when I know/see the reason for them being so. Inevitably I just start wishing I was reading about the MC and start skimming just to get to that point XD. Either way I’m sure I’ll enjoy it.

  5. G October 2, 2017 at 8:26 pm #

    Personally, I detest multiple POV stories and usually refuse to buy them…I end up reading one POV and skimming the others…your current system of using prologues and epilogues to give different POV is excellent, and I would continue that in graduation day and future books…

  6. P October 2, 2017 at 8:41 pm #

    I rather like SIM because it is primarily one POV. Almost every author that I’ve read that started with single-POV and tried to transition it to a multi-POV changed the feeling of their writing so much that I end up not wanting to read it. It’s not that change can’t be good, but I’d rather not risk the formula in the main work when it’s doing so well.

  7. Chris October 2, 2017 at 10:59 pm #

    No multi character POV please. I really love this series as it is, and all too often I find myself irritated in other series when the POV switches, because invariably it’s right after I’ve finally gotten “into the grove” of the previous characters POV. Then the process repeats, over and over.

  8. Wazman October 3, 2017 at 12:43 am #

    I have mixed feeling about multi character POV, sometimes its a necessary tool to properly tell a complex story. I would either recommend that it be used sparingly at plot points where having another view point in concert with Emily’s own is the best way to express the scene. Or you might already have a possible solution with novellas like the planned Alassa’s Tale.

    If you expand this it could be a way to create spin off stories/novels that you would like to use to enhance the overall Nameless world narrative. Ideas like what exactly happened when Freida was away from Emily working for Daze. Or what happened to Nanette during her long recovery period where she regrew her arm. etc

    I think I’ve mentioned this before but Ender’s Game was told from mostly from Andrew Wiggin POV but Ender’s Shadow was from Bean’s. After reading the Ender’s Shadow I found myself re-reading scenes from the first book where they synced.

    And as you said in another blog post Emily really does need a vacation and you don’t have to invent something like kryptonite, that gave Bud Collyer’s voice a break in the radio serial “The Adventures of Superman”

  9. Vapori October 3, 2017 at 12:58 am #

    Maybe another solution then. clearly most people feel opposed to multi pov.
    But if it’s necessary to add another viewpoint from time to time. Maybe in the form of Intermedium. Something a bit like the prologue or epilogue chapters just in the middle of the book.

    • chrishanger October 3, 2017 at 1:02 pm #

      Maybe a handful of interludes, then

      Chris

  10. kilowog77 October 3, 2017 at 1:15 am #

    While I like the idea of certain pov characters (imaiqah, lady barb), who could help us understand better how Emily and her works are perceived in the nameless world. I think containing chapters like that to prologue and epilogues as you have been doing is the way to go.

  11. Lucy October 3, 2017 at 4:06 am #

    I so love your series but I confess, I hate multiple POV. I find it very disruptive to the storyline (unless they are minor inputs of say a page or 2 with the main POV continuing. Please just continue with Emily. I think I would probably stop buying them if you started seriously down this track.

  12. PhilippeO October 3, 2017 at 4:10 am #

    > The good news is that I completed the first draft of Graduation Day yesterday.

    Yes, Thank You.

    —-

    seconded Vapori, create Intermedium with one throw-away POV as addition.

    as for multiple POV, it might be better if you create one or two ‘secondary heroine’ that has her own story and can be interspersed with Emily story if really necessary, so limiting POV to two or three. ASOIAF style multiple POV is too different from current style.

  13. Kell October 3, 2017 at 5:13 am #

    Changing it might be good but you should label it as an anthology distinguishing It from the rest of the series

  14. elkwood October 3, 2017 at 5:24 am #

    Long as its not over done i love the book to have multi points. It be a nice
    change up.

  15. allyk October 3, 2017 at 7:05 am #

    I don’t get the multi-POV hate, i love having more insight into the other sides

    limiting yourself to one POV is rather . . . limiting

  16. Andrea Ungaro October 3, 2017 at 8:28 am #

    I don’t much like multiple POV stories (I couldn’t read Game of Thrones, for example), but there are some exceptions. Willing to look at it as long as it doesn’t interfere with the main (Emily’s) story.

  17. William Ameling October 3, 2017 at 10:13 am #

    While I do not mind multiple POV, what is really needed is to tell certain other single POV stories such as what has been happening to Alassa and Imaiquh during Emily’s 5th and 6th School years, or even what Lady Barb has been up to since she left teaching at the School and chaperoned Enily’s first visit to Caleb’s parents and Beneficence. It might give us some idea of what has been happening off the main stage (Emily’s POV) with other characters who are no longer with Emily at the same location. Possibly short novellas might serve that need. Sticking primarily to Emily has been working well. It might also give us some idea what has been going on at the White Council to defend Emily to them. It also lets us see other things that are developing off the main stage before they come onto that stage. I like to read longer stories (I am a book worm at heart) which usually means seeing more than one POV’s story. Is there some reason that you can not write longer SIM books? (maybe because of Kindle Unlimited sales, if SIM goes out in that channel? I have bought all of the SIM Books and you are my largest single author on my Kindle, including your other series.)

  18. Larry October 3, 2017 at 4:04 pm #

    I’m reading Gordian Knot now and it seems you’re indicating that the end of the series is in sight… but there are so many outstanding things I’m left wondering if you’re planning to close those loops before the series ends? Or will we continue with Emily after school in a different series? (her university, what’s beneath the school, who built the school, her magic-based computer – so many things that I read that I’m like ‘i want a book based on that’ – but there aren’t that many books in the series left it seems. Can you tell us if you expect these things to be wrapped up?

    • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard October 3, 2017 at 7:27 pm #

      Actually, Chris was saying that Emily’s time at Whitehall was coming to an end.

      Chris has plenty of other stories about Emily planned. It’s just that Graduation Day is the last book with Emily as a student at Whitehall.

    • chrishanger October 4, 2017 at 3:07 pm #

      My plan remains roughly 21 books. I may continue the series beyond then, but I don’t know for sure.

      Chris

  19. clbeam October 3, 2017 at 4:54 pm #

    mutli point of void is good for world building but you loose story focuses it could be good for stand alone novels. Look at david webbers books there first few in any of his series have a main character but after that is becomes a mess with several pov so much so that the main character see vary little page time, if you are going to do this i suggest you just have to main characters like is done in the foreigner books or inter-space the books with two or three interludes or part i seen done in older scifi books. of make a anthology of short stories crossing several past events that Emily effects

  20. Bagsy October 3, 2017 at 7:47 pm #

    As with most of the other replies I am not a fan of multi POV for this series. I like tha tthi sis Emily’s story and that we are seeing the world from her POV. Having said tha tI can see some merit in seeing the world from other POVs but I would suggest it would be beter as a series of novellas that tie into the the main story and add to it . Jim Butcher has done this for the Dresden file and I think it works very well.

  21. allyk October 4, 2017 at 11:19 am #

    Thinking about multi-POV a bit more, my guess is the problem isn’t literally any POV switch, it’s when other characters get elevated to semi-main character status.

    So if you sent Imaiqah off on some quest and we follow her for a third of the book, yeah, not what I want. But it would be cool to check in occasionally with the others to see what they think and what they’re up to, especially Gordian, Fulvia, Void, and the council.

    Someone above suggested interludes, and I think that’s generally the right idea. They don’t have to be literal interludes, but keep each one short and focused on the main plot.

  22. Ihas October 4, 2017 at 6:43 pm #

    Another vote against multi pov here. The prologues and epilogues have been short enough not to bore me. I imagine some vignettes between chapters could also be tolerated, but I tune in for the Emily channel.

  23. William Ameling October 4, 2017 at 9:57 pm #

    Stick mostly to Emily, but there are stories about things that happen to/with other characters that would be helpful for use to see as a story from their POV rather than be told after the fact to Emily. In particular, things concerning Alassa and Imaiquh and their problems with King Randor, and any of coming attempts (that we think are coming) to overthrow him by Nanette and her hidden master. Plus of course, the struggle for Alassa to become Queen and secure her power, after her father is gone.

    I love David Weber as an author, but the SafeHold series got too dragged out with too many other detailed scenes, characters, and detailed battles for me.

  24. Pekka October 8, 2017 at 9:36 pm #

    I would like a part of the story to be from another POV (but not too much). It would be interesting to see how other people in the World see Emily!

Leave a Reply

