Updates (again)–SIM, ZERO, ANGEL

6 Sep

Hi, everyone

It’s been an odd week, really.

Right now, I’m waiting on two sets of edits – The Zero Curse and The Gordian Knot. I’m hoping to get The Zero Curse out by the end of the month (hence the blip in my publication schedule) but obviously I can’t promise anything until I see and do the edits. That said, I already have the cover so unless there are any real glitches with the edits I should be able to go through them fairly quickly.

I’ve been spending the time reasonably productively. I’ve sketched out plots for The Princess In The Tower, SIM15, and Alassa’s Tale, a short story set between Graduation Day and The Princess in the Tower. I’ve also been scribbling out notes for Invincible, which will kick off the fourth Ark Royal trilogy. It isn’t solid yet, but I hope to start writing it fairly early in the new year.

Becalmed has been re-titled The Hyperspace Trap and has gone through a fairly solid editing process. It’s a stand-alone set in the Angel in the Whirlwind universe, which doesn’t have to be read to understand the mainline story, but it does offer some background to the problems facing the main characters. I’ve also started to plot out the next three Kat Falcone books, with the first one provisionally titled ‘The Embers of War.’

My planned schedule for the next few months hasn’t changed:

Sept – Graduation Day (SIM 14)

Oct – The Cruel Stars (Ark XI, stand-alone)

Nov – Cat’s Paw (Bookworm successor series, Vol. 1)

I may manage to fit Alassa’s Tale in after Cat’s Paw, but it depends on timing.

As I have mentioned elsewhere, I’m currently working on an anthology of stories featuring the British military. You can see the blog post here. Please email me if you’re interested in taking part and I’ll send you the rules.

Thanks for reading!

Chris

55 Responses to “Updates (again)–SIM, ZERO, ANGEL”

  1. Ross September 6, 2017 at 6:04 pm #

    Any comment on timing for Audiobooks for the remainder of the SIM books?

    • chrishanger September 10, 2017 at 7:43 am #

      The next one is out at the end of the month. Beyond that, I don’t have exact dates

      Chris

  2. steven house September 6, 2017 at 6:08 pm #

    So are we geting Graduation Day before or instead of The Gordian Knot?

    • Kaesha September 6, 2017 at 7:21 pm #

      I also question this. It confused me as well.

    • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard September 6, 2017 at 7:59 pm #

      Graduation Day has to follow Gordian Knot. The ending of Gordian Knot leads directly into what happens in Graduation Day.

    • Xtriver September 6, 2017 at 8:00 pm #

      He is working on graduation day this month, the Gordian Knot is in editing.

  3. G September 6, 2017 at 9:37 pm #

    Looking forward to catching up with Alassa, Jade, Imaquih, and cockatrice and zangaria!!!

    • PhilippeO September 7, 2017 at 3:37 am #

      Seconded. Waiting excitedly for Gordian Knot and Graduation Day !!!

      • G September 7, 2017 at 9:07 am #

        It’ll be interesting to see what crises is brewing in Zangaria and how Emily matures in her dealings there…what’s going to be interesting is that in medieval Europe once someone was a noble, they were a noble for life–no tittles could be taken or given away (although the noble could be executed for treason they died as a noble). Many nobles had tittles and estates in multiple countries though and set policy and went years without visiting a particular estate letting stewards rule their lands… Emily could establish subordinates in Heart’s Eye, Cockatrice, and any other estates she ultimately controls while spending the bulk of her time on the Allied Lands as a whole…

      • Pyo September 8, 2017 at 4:07 pm #

        Don’t know where you got that from, but for example in the Holy Roman Empire it was perfectly possible to take away titles (usually if somebody was considered a traitor).

      • chrishanger September 10, 2017 at 7:50 am #

        It was very rare in British history. Even exiles were supposed to retain their titles – this led to all sorts of problems, from time to time.

        Chris

      • G September 8, 2017 at 9:06 pm #

        Good point–it’s still an extreme event. I also suspect Alassa is going to need Emily’s backing once she takes the throne–especially if internal and external enemies oppose her…but then I always loved the stories where Emily got mixed up in politics, I’m getting kinda tired of her being in Whitehall…

      • Pyo September 9, 2017 at 2:20 pm #

        Politics in scifi and fantasy are the similar as married couples in romances.

        Essentially, romances are always A meets B, and then the book ends when the couple is safely together, having overcome some obstacles (although that’s really where the relationship starts!)

        For politics, we usually have a young hero/ine, who is in some way an outsider to whatever society they are in, and then as the series continues, they grow more and more influential. But if they ever achieve an official, political position, and that’s their main job, the series is usually over (in reverse, if they start as King, Prince etc then they’ll first lose their throne and have to get it back).

        There are (many) exceptions of course (i can’t recommend The Traitor Baru Cormorant enough), but by and large I’ll insist that it’s true. And it’s a shame, since I agree, fictional politics can be fascinating.

        As for Emily, luckily she lately wasn’t all that much at Whitehall, I suppose 😉 But yeah, I don’t think I’ll be disappointed once the series moves beyond that (unless it’s over then – it’s called Schooled in Magic after all ^^).

      • chrishanger September 11, 2017 at 11:24 am #

        We’re about halfway through my planned story arc.

        Chris

      • G September 9, 2017 at 6:42 pm #

        Just thinking, but if Emily helps Zangaria move to a House of Lords/House of Commons/Queen government (with Alassa having more power than Queen Elizabeth) she could then move on to an apprenticeship with Void, adventures in the Allied Lands, and still occationally be drawn into Zangaria for visits and the occational crises…

  4. David Graf September 6, 2017 at 11:09 pm #

    Please make sure that the next Ark book is clearly labeled on Amazon as a standalone book so that those expecting something else don’t go bonkers in their online reviews.

  5. Ann September 7, 2017 at 1:27 am #

    Nov – Cat’s Paw (Bookworm successor series, Vol. 1)

    Zero Caitlyn is known as Cat so make sure this title doesn’t confuse anyone.

    • allyk September 7, 2017 at 1:53 am #

      not to be confused with Kat Falcone

  6. allyk September 7, 2017 at 2:00 am #

    It’s always a little confusing because he doesn’t directly specify that that’s his writing schedule, not his publication schedule

    publication schedule:
    September: Zero Curse
    October: SIM 13 – Gordian Knot

    writing schedule:
    September: Graduation Day (SIM 14)
    October: The Cruel Stars
    etc

    frankly, I would guess more people are interested in the publication schedule (when can I get my grubby mitts on it?)

    • chrishanger September 10, 2017 at 7:44 am #

      I wish I could give precise dates

      Chris

  7. Doug lake September 7, 2017 at 4:11 am #

    Well I’m glad I came in here to ask a question. As the remarks just above me answered what some of my confusion was. I remember you saying some time ago that there was going to be a book about the 6TH year and then about graduation. Then I see that you are going to publish SIM 14 in September. I checked my Kindle and it said my last book in the series was as I sim 12. This left me confused. I think I’ve sorted it out that the next one’s going to be SIM 13 (year six) and the one after that will be sim 14.

    • chrishanger September 10, 2017 at 7:45 am #

      Books 13 and 14 cover the last year in Whitehall.

      Chris

  8. Doug lake September 7, 2017 at 4:37 am #

    The Zero Curse, I can see that you already sent it for editing so it’s probably too late to comment about. I wasn’t feeling so hot about the idea of her going with her and to the capital. The hint that her father had already pulled her out of the school indicated he was not confident of her safety now to send her off to the capital with only her aunt to protect her? Seems to follow one comment you made about the trouble she could get into. Just not comfortable with that.

    • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard September 7, 2017 at 5:28 am #

      Don’t worry. Cat didn’t go anywhere with her aunt. 👿

      Seriously, I’ve seen the complete book so I know what happens between Cat and her aunt in the next chapter. 😉

      • doug lake sr September 20, 2017 at 10:10 pm #

        Thank you. I need to check this site more offten

    • chrishanger September 10, 2017 at 7:45 am #

      Don’t worry – she’s not going there.

      Chris

      • doug lake sr September 20, 2017 at 10:14 pm #

        Read the book it was very good. I have an active memory
        of other book that went BAD. So Now I know I will Not worry. I have injoyed all of you books.

  9. Pixie September 7, 2017 at 9:00 am #

    Darn, need something to read while I wait out this hurricane over the weekend, but none of my authors have anything new.

    • FarWalker September 7, 2017 at 9:14 pm #

      Stay safe pixie. My governor just issued a mandatory evacuation order for Coastal Georgia where I live. I will ride it out. I used to live in Southeast Louisiana and have been through many hurricanes so I’m as prepared as one can be.

      • Pixie September 11, 2017 at 4:00 am #

        Ended up in savannah. Trying to find someplace open with food tonight is a pain.

  10. Jeanne Mitchell September 7, 2017 at 9:52 am #

    How, how, HOW do you write so fast? And so WELL? I am an avid reader and I really appreciate how quickly you get me “the next book”. I am so spoiled by you that I cannot stand the usual “1 book each year”. Seriously, how?

    • Wazman September 8, 2017 at 3:11 am #

      There are three possibilities.

      1. “Christopher Nuttall” is actually a collective of talented individual writers.
      2. He somehow found a way to make the bilocation spell work (if this the case can i make a deal for it?)
      3. He is a very talented/rare type of writer.

      Either way I’m glad that I can enjoy every piece of work I can get my hands on

      • Jeanne Mitchell September 8, 2017 at 9:48 pm #

        I’m guessing #3 for the amazing of it. Although #1 is pretty amazing too; getting everyone to write with the same voice. I’m just hoping they are addicted to writing and don’t suddenly say “I have enough money, I’m done now”.

      • chrishanger September 11, 2017 at 11:21 am #

        It is just one author

        Chris

      • chrishanger September 10, 2017 at 7:48 am #

        I’m only one person

        Chris

    • chrishanger September 10, 2017 at 7:46 am #

      I credit bloody-mindedness .

      Chris

  11. kell September 8, 2017 at 5:52 am #

    Yea so exited. I like that were getting a short story. It’s great to finally get into Alassa’s head. What does she really think about Emily. There were hints that she once loved her. Her best friend helped saved her kingdom and inadvertently brought out the beginnings of the french revolution. Can’t wait. Also I really want Gordian to be taken down a peg. Also I am looking forward to cat’s book I really like her.

    • Wazman September 11, 2017 at 4:33 am #

      The same here I have been hoping for a “spin off” of the SIM universe. This is a good start. After re reading Wedding Hells I was just thinking about how the epilogue of Sargent’s Apprentice ended with King Randor being debriefed on the recent war. Which everyone assumed would last for months if not years. The King didn’t seem to happy that Emily survived and is now a war heroine. Right now I don’t think that he could remove her ennoblement even if he wanted to with her growing popularity and status. It must really bother him that his own daughter is still a close friend and I wonder if he had used to royal bloodline back in Wedding Hells to question her about Emily. Especially her deepest held feelings towards her first true friend.

      • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard September 11, 2017 at 5:02 am #

        He did question his daughter and learned that Emily wasn’t from the Nameless World.

        I’m sure that he’d learn about the friendship between Emily & his daughter especially about how his daughter would react if she had to chose between him and Emily.

      • Wazman September 11, 2017 at 7:05 am #

        I do remember that from WH but I was also thinking about Alassa’s bachelorette party where the girls (Except for Emily) were drinking that potent wine. In her i ineberated state Alassa asked Emily if she loved her. This was sort of teased earlier but I can’t precisely recall where. I think there is a part of her that loves Emily perhaps a little more than she is willing to admit. I am not saying she is going to act on this feeling. I just think when her father grilled her about Emily it all came out.

        Randor must really feel powerless in how much his own daughter listens to her best friend over him. How will he react if he finds out that Emily used a forbidden spell to heal what otherwise would have been a mortal wound.

      • G September 11, 2017 at 9:55 am #

        Does anyone at Whitehall-even Lady Barb or Miles–suspect how much forbidden knowledge Emily picked up at Mountaintop?? Or know she owns Aurelius’s library with books on advanced magic–including demon summoning?? It would add a lot of drama if some of that would come out in Graduation Day–with another power boost…something to make the White Council desparate to get the oaths from her and keep her under control as she heads off to Zangaria…

      • chrishanger September 11, 2017 at 11:59 am #

        It does.

        Historically, close friendships like that could change the course of history – some for better, some for worse.

        Chris

      • kell September 12, 2017 at 7:15 am #

        Wazman You asked were it was hinted about Alassa? In trial by fire the demon inside Alassa’s mind hinted that Alassa had been in love with Emily and wanted to marry her at one time. But Emily concluded that the demon was probable misleading her.
        In the bachelor party Alassa also said she loved her (Emily)and wanted her with her(Alassa) but that she(Alassa) didn’t understand her(Emily). This was ambiguous but I don’t think it was platonic on Alassa’s part. I tend to think that Alassa might be bi.

        Or well, Alassa is also cold blooded about marriages, it’s not really about love but practicality. Alassa could feel enough report with jade that she married him despite feelings for women. When it comes down to it humans are physical creatures, they can enjoy intimacy even if they may have preferences for another sex. Alassa was expected to marry whoever her father said and have a child with them. She at least likes jade and they get along. But what about jade? What if he finds out that Alassa might have feelings for Emily instead of him…I’m not sure if I want drama or I want the three of them happy.lol

        The thing about Emily which I both like and hate is that Emily is so oblivious and she doesn’t understand people’s feelings. Sense we are mostly told things from her perspective we have a very narrow view of other peoples thoughts at times.It’s good from a story stand point but not always the best at understanding the other characters viewpoints. That’s why I am exited to get some short stories. I really want to know what going on between Barb and Miles. Has Miles maybe popped the question and Barb is not for it?

    • chrishanger September 11, 2017 at 11:21 am #

      It’s something that will happen, to some degree

      Chris

      • G September 12, 2017 at 7:30 am #

        Did we ever get any idea of how Void formally offering Emily an unconditional apprenticeship affected things??

  12. Ann September 9, 2017 at 1:07 am #

    Chris, Some early book Zero Curse edits

    If children get magic at 7 years why didn’t Cat develop friendships before then. I certainly had neighborhood friends from when I was 3 years old (no childcare then).

    “I’d spent the last six years trying – and often failing – to avoid increasingly nasty pranks from my sisters, pranks that I’d never been able to see coming. ”
    Not true, if magic came at 7 years then magic pranks were only possible from then so just 5 years.

    “Magicians who forged Devices of Power claimed that the work couldn’t be paused, once it was underway, but I’d never had a problem when I’d forged Objects of Power. ”
    Chris did you mean this to be a change of item (device to object) or should this be a same comparison (magician’s devices and Cat’s devices). Cat has already planned to break the sword Object of Power into a two day embue with magic runes process.

    • georgephillies September 10, 2017 at 2:54 pm #

      “gets magic at 7” is perhaps like “starts to read at 7”, namely there is plausibly a variation. Certainly there is sometimes a late variation, as Cat’s aprents did not give up hope when she turned 8.

      • chrishanger September 11, 2017 at 11:58 am #

        In theory, everyone has magic – some just have to work harder than others to develop it. Cat being late wouldn’t have been that much of a problem, if she’d shown signs of magic beforehand.

        Chris

    • chrishanger September 11, 2017 at 11:23 am #

      Cat was raised in an aristocratic household – most of the kids she met were of lower class to herself. She wasn’t allowed out to parties until she started to learn magic, which ended badly.

      Chris

  13. William Ameling September 12, 2017 at 5:43 pm #

    In case anyone wondered at my absence from posting to Chris’s Blog(s), I had to relocate my parents and myself from Florida to Pennsylvannia, because of Hurricane Irma,which took 3 days (Wednesday to Friday), and it will be more than a week more before I will be back interacting with you about Chris and his books. I am really looking forward to Gordian Knot. I think that Irma’s eyewall passed very close to my parent’s manufactured house east of Tampa FL (Lakeland FL) early Monday morning, but it had lost a lot of strength over land, so hopefully there is not too much damage.

    • Wazman September 12, 2017 at 6:29 pm #

      Glad you and your family are safe and sound

      • chrishanger September 17, 2017 at 5:34 pm #

        From me too – stay safe.

        Chris

  14. William Ameling September 22, 2017 at 12:19 am #

    I am back on line again after getting TV Cable and Internet installed finally. Have not had the chance to get Zero Curse yet. No significant damage to my parents’ (and my) house (in FL) but it would have been very dangerous to an almost invalid father (almost 89 years old) to have stayed, and we were already planning to relocate near my younger sister to put my father in a nursing home in PA, Hurricane Irma just sped the process up by a lot.

    I did notice while rereading Fists of Justice, an internal comment by Emily that the old Grand Master of Whitehall (Hasdrubal (spelling?)) was over 100 years old. This relates to the discussion several months ago about whether he could be the brother of Void ( who would be the one (Void) (4th brother) with the damaged soul) who we knew already was over 100 years old also. At that time (several months ago) I was arguing that Hasdrubal was a lot younger than Void, so now we know that I was wrong about the relative ages of Void and Hasdrubal. So this keeps open that suggestion by other people about Void and Hasdrubal, although I still have my own doubts about the possibility being true. I am still waiting for Gordian Knot!!!

Leave a Reply

