Starting Now–Ask A Writer

22 Jun

I’ve been thinking about this for some time.

Ask A Writer

I get a lot – I mean a lot – of questions about writing, editing, publishing and everything else the aspiring writer needs to know. And – as I had a lot of help from more established writers myself – I do try to answer the questions, although I can’t always provide more than generalised advice. As many of the questions I get are duplicates, I’ve decided to formalise (sort of) the process with Ask A Writer.

Email me your questions and I will answer them, if I can, in a blog post. I’ll start listing the answers below, once I get some.

Please include as much detail as you can, but remember that the blog post will be public so use false names or pick your words carefully if you’re concerned about someone seeing it <grin>.

What I Will Do:

· Generalised advice on writing, editing and formatting.

· Generalised advice on dealing with issues such as editors, agents, publishers and taxmen.

What I Will NOT Do:

· Read or edit your plot, synopsis or manuscript. I don’t have time to do this for everyone. (There is a list of editors I can vouch for on my site.)

· Offer legal advice. I’m not a lawyer. My advice if you need legal advice is to get a lawyer familiar with the laws in your location (and/or which laws govern your contracts.)

· Offer accountancy advice. I’m not an accountant.

· Answer questions that have already been asked, answered and listed below.

 

2 Responses to “Starting Now–Ask A Writer”

  1. ander75it June 23, 2017 at 8:14 am #

    Do you know about ask.fm? You might want to consider a profile there (and you can also link your blog of course). Kind regards

  2. Ihas July 10, 2017 at 1:16 am #

    I tried sending you a question but yahoo keeps saying your email address is invalid, so here is my question. Sorry if it’s already addressed below. I did a search and saw you have previously discussed your works published under the Creative Commons license, but what about other works?

    How do you, specifically, feel about fans writing and disseminating (AKA publishing) fan fiction set in a world that you created and involving one or more characters that you created? Which works are published under which types of licenses, and what are the implications of those licenses specifically for fan fiction? More generally, is there a right way and a wrong way to go about writing and publishing fan fiction?

Leave a Reply

