Yet More Updates

2 Jun

Hi, everyone

Good news first – I’ve completed the first draft of Becalmed, which is – technically – an Angel in the Whirlwind spin-off. The events in this book will have some effect on the second arc, which is hopefully going to start sometime later in the year (depends on sales and stuff), but I wrote it to be as stand-alone as possible. It’s really an attempt to blend space opera with eldritch horror, rather than a straight-up MIL-SF story.

In addition, I’ve also completed a set of edits for The Invasion of 1950, which was an eye-opener in many ways. My writing has come along considerably since I wrote the first draft of that book. The new version is uploading to kindle now, so if you try to update it in a couple of days you should get the newer text. (I’m going to ask Amazon to push out the updates, as they are considerable, but they may refuse.)

FINAL Longest Day_flare_missiles Invasion of 1950 final cover

The next project, which I will start in a few days, is The Longest Day, the first of two planned stand-alone novels set in the Ark Royal universe. After that …

I’m torn. Part of me wants to do SIM 13, but it’s only been two-three months since I wrote Fists of Justice (which is selling well, BTW) and I need more time to consider where next to take Emily and her friends. The other part of me wants to do Cat’s Paw, which is Book I of The Unwritten Words, the Bookworm successor series. I’ve also been messing around with a semi-historical novel – I’m not sure if it will be historical, alternate history or straight-up fantasy – called The Unkindest Cut. I might be able to fit that into Bookworm instead – there’s certainly room for it after the chaos of Full Circle – but that will limit what else I can do with the story.

That said, it would be interesting to have both Cat’s Paw and The Unkindest Cut and then have them collide later on.

I’ve also been messing around with a spin-off set in either Schooled in Magic or The Zero Blessing – probably the latter, but I don’t know yet. The provisional title is The Alchemist’s Apprentice, although she will be more of a servant than a genuine apprentice.

(That said, I have also finalised the plot for The Zero Curse, which I will probably write in August. Snippet here.)

In other news, we’re currently in Malaysia <grin>

Chris

47 Responses to “Yet More Updates”

  1. Gardner Friedlander June 2, 2017 at 8:18 pm #

    A small typo in one of the last paragraphs of the snippet:
    “The protective spells Mum and Dad had given me had never been anchored properly because there was nothing for them to anchor too. ”
    The last word should have a single o: “to” not “too”.

  2. Daniel June 2, 2017 at 10:39 pm #

    Sim. The more Sim the better. Also a spin off in sim rather then zero. Sim is a more complete world right now. Focus on the main zero books before any spin offs. And so many of us are interested in seeing more of the nameless world

  3. Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard June 2, 2017 at 10:44 pm #

    I’d love for you to do SIM 13.

    Of course, SIM 13 has to be quickly followed by SIM 14 (due to the Chrishanger in SIM 13) and SIM 14 has to be quickly followed by SIM 15 (due to the Chrishanger in SIM 14).

    Chris, ever get the feeling that you can’t win? 😆

  4. benbailey12373 June 2, 2017 at 11:08 pm #

    SIM13!!! Definately gets my vote SIM is my fav! I could with something to chear me up just found out I’ve got to have another major operation grr!

  5. Daniel June 2, 2017 at 11:39 pm #

    Chris. Have you ever considered a collaboration? I would think that process could create an interesting work( I also wonder how self published authors would approach that possibility)

    • chrishanger June 3, 2017 at 4:57 pm #

      I’ve tried them. It hasn’t worked too well.

      If someone wanted to play in my sandbox – with a clear understanding that the serial numbers would be filed off if i didn’t like their work – that would be one thing. But I don’t have time for a significant collaboration ATM.

      Chris

      • Wazman June 4, 2017 at 4:15 am #

        perhaps a short story in the SIM universe about a lone alchemist on top of a mountain top experimenting as example of why not to mess with magical ingredients. It could be a tragic yet humorous to read.

      • chrishanger June 4, 2017 at 6:10 pm #

        Might be fun

        Chris

      • Wazman June 8, 2017 at 2:44 pm #

        You could tie what the alchemist is experimenting with something that Emily has introduced. For example the steam engine, it seems that there might be some magicians that can not accept that there isn’t something magical about it. This alchemist could think that there is something unique about the water or the steam that should be investigated. He could have spent every gold coin to acquire a working engine or even been desperate enough to steal it. Now if he crafted a simple spell to break the water/steam down in preparation for some alchemy experiment. He could inadvertently break the water molecules down into hydrogen and oxygen. Not knowing that he has created a potential disaster he then does something that creates a simple spark. What is both humorous and sad about this would be that the reader as well as Emily would have some idea what is about to happen. It sort of reminds me about Mark Whatney in “The Martian” when he is trying to make water from rocket fuel. btw the book is way better than the movie.

      • chrishanger June 9, 2017 at 8:31 pm #

        That would be a very funny short story

        Chris

  6. Bruce Johnson June 3, 2017 at 12:16 am #

    If I had my say you would write the SIM series to its conclusion before moving to another series. As jumping from series to series without ever finishing one is for me very annoying. And SIM is in my opinion far and away your best work so finishing it before moving to something else just makes since. Starting a new series sounds to be the worst idea I can think of you have way too many going as is and very few have an end in sight. The reason I read very few non indie authors is how long it is between books in a series. Authors such as yourself have proven that writing a book every 4 to 6 weeks is very doable, where as with non indie’s you get one book a year if you are lucky. But with as many series as you have going now and thinking of doing a new one or two it is getting to be too long between books in anyone particular series. Thus its getting to the point where you might as well be writing for a publisher as it’s going to take just as long between books in any one series.

    • Daniel June 3, 2017 at 12:30 am #

      Keep in mind that the bounce between 1 project and the next keeps the mind fresh

      • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard June 3, 2017 at 12:39 am #

        Nod, David Weber has said that writing other series/books helps keep him fresh for the Honorverse series.

        IE He said that he’d get tired of writing only Honor Novels.

      • Vapori June 3, 2017 at 9:43 am #

        Have to agree with that. SIM other Series, then back to SIM or a SIM spin off. Series then another one.
        Well if you have an itching to write something new then do that. But it would be very much appreciated if every second or third book happens to be SIM.

        I like your SF Military Series also a lot, But they are often a bit like other good Military SF, But SIM is nearly unique in it’s consistency and deepness when compared to other fantasy worlds.

      • chrishanger June 4, 2017 at 6:07 pm #

        Thank you!

        I had a lot of fun outlining the universe and the plots

        Chris

      • chrishanger June 3, 2017 at 4:58 pm #

        That’s the point. I don’t want to risk getting drawn too much into the universe – i need to look at each plot with a fresh eye.

        Barring accidents, I’m pretty sure i’ll do at least two more SIM books this year. But I don’t want to do them too close together.

        Chris

  7. Catherine Howat June 3, 2017 at 1:05 am #

    Just finishing Angel #4 excellent, I will do a review Cathy

  8. giorgi June 3, 2017 at 6:17 am #

    of course SIM13, SIM14 and SIM15, and then everything else, as time allows.
    thanks for your writing. SIM is definitely one of the very best in fantasy writings for me. I do not know how I did not see it before. On the other hand, 11 books were already ready for reading when I stumbled upon it.

  9. Veraenderer June 3, 2017 at 8:36 am #

    I’m unsure, I like bookworm and SIM and while a bookworm sequel would make me happy, I want the SIM story getting forward.

    Btw. Can you say in the next SIM something about the Empire?

  10. Don June 3, 2017 at 9:15 am #

    Yeap new SIM would be great. Buy those as soon as it comes out.

    Would love to see Emily develop in to Railway baron. haha.
    But Emily has so much wealth generating assets now that she would become THE wealthiest person within 5 years. Just need a shipyards to make steam freight ships and factories to make consumer goods so increase trade activities with bank to support people who take risk and go out there to make things happen.

    Also with nexus point where she can make university and school to teach next generation of magicians who will have to take oaths to go on to 5th and 6th years like Whitehall and Mountaintop. Thus loyal magicians and if military school also then military personal. As she can make the school into independent state, Emily can raise armies to fight the Necromancer through the wealth she gets from Barony, railway and banks.

    She is really child of destiny.

    • Vapori June 4, 2017 at 10:36 am #

      It’s not an instant money making machine, she has a basically perfect position to become the riches person, but she needs to reinvest most of her current gains into the railway and cockatrice infrastructure.
      So she hasn’t that much liquid assets right now.

      hopefully it will require less bribes now that she is the owner of the railway.

      • Wazman June 8, 2017 at 2:51 pm #

        Not if Emily or the bank of silence introduce paper money to the Nameless world, and they already have the printing press. Then she could introduce inflation. 🙂

  11. Jensebaum June 3, 2017 at 6:11 pm #

    SIM would be first on my wishlist, with Zero on the second place and Bookworm on the third. Also, a SIM spin-off that explores more of the Nameless World would be really nice.

    • chrishanger June 4, 2017 at 6:08 pm #

      I have several ideas. But most of them would come after the end of SIM.

      Chris

  12. FarWalker June 3, 2017 at 7:25 pm #

    Chris it doesn’t matter to me what you write – I will read it regardless. That being said I really do like the SIM and Bookworm series. They are by far your best series especially SIM (At least for me).

  13. G June 3, 2017 at 7:49 pm #

    As a selfish reader, SIM really is unique and wonderful…I can find lots of sci-fi.

    If you do take Emily back to Whitehall, could she develop new friends and allies and be drawn more into the politics of the nameless world?? Otherwise, another year at Whitehall becomes same old, same old…

  14. Xtriver June 4, 2017 at 3:11 am #

    Dear Chris. I am an avid reader of your work and mightily appreciate the rapid releases, as well as the quality. The Empires Corps series was the first of your work i came across, this was somwhere after the fifth installment and the eight. I enjoyed the series and continued to follow up on it’s progress, however when I came across the Scooled in Magic series you captivated my imgaination. Personally I would prefer you to write SIM 13, although, and I think your readers would agree that if your heart is not fully committed to a plotline as of yet. Wait. Take a vaction, write nonsence rhymes on beach somwhere, get those creative juices flowing. Enjoy a brew in some hole in the wall and ask a stranger what he would do if he felt so inclined to sacrefice people to dark gods? (I imgaine that would be a strained conversation if it was misinterpreted) Starting a new series or continuing an excisting one while not fully comitted/indecicive, would in my opinion be an error. After all Chris, we the readers expect genius! Complete the next prodject perhaps inspiration will strike in unecpected places. The Bookworm seris was not one of my favorites, it is a fine collection of creative writing nonetheless. I will not proritize its successor over other books in my queue, I will get to it eventually. The Zero Blessing universe I found more interesting than that of Bookworm and a spin off sertanly would pique my interest. The series though sertanly written fo a younger audince than myself lacked the obvious and ill disguised plot holes that is so common in books for the younger audiences, and i liked the ambiance. You shall soon be free of my ramblings, oh dearest and cleverest author of fantastic tales and intellectual articles (yes, I AM buttering you up here!) would you hear our(your acolytes) humble plea to have from the SIM universe out before the newyear? Preferably book 13&14.

    Regards and well wishes.
    Xtriver

    • Xtriver June 4, 2017 at 3:18 am #

      The plea was for two releases. it was cut out for some reaseon i used () to emphasise two releases. perhaps it was incompatible with this format

      • Xtriver June 4, 2017 at 3:21 am #

        Yes, incompatible.

    • chrishanger June 4, 2017 at 6:09 pm #

      I’m pretty sure that both 13 and 14 will be written before the end of the year.

      Chris

      • Daniel June 4, 2017 at 7:41 pm #

        this is on my list of “good things”

      • G June 7, 2017 at 6:03 am #

        Emily is said to be as powerful as the senior apprentices such as Cat in TSA, yet in an later note, you state that after fighting a necromancer and mastering a nexus point and passing out and then twice stretching her powers to the limit in fighting the mimic she was only as powerful as Cat or Jade–this doesn’t work–you need to show more character growth in some combination of power/perceptions…adults should now be treating her visibly differently…

      • Kell Harris June 8, 2017 at 5:43 am #

        I kind off agree with G. It was said that she was among the top apprentices but she almost blew out her power at the the end of both of the last books. It would be be somewhat at odds that she is not stronger then cat and jade especially because she said she felt more drained then when she fought Master grey.. Another thing. There was a time were both Jade and Emily went through a portal together but Emily was affected worse. If you were to say in skill wise she was on par with Jade and cat that I can believe but in terms of raw power…. Especially at the end off the last book. Its hard to say that she is at the same level as jade.

      • Wazman June 8, 2017 at 3:05 pm #

        I asked Chris in another post that could it be possible that because Emily comes from our universe than her magical potential may perhaps be greater than anyone in the Nameless world. (fyi he stated it was a possibility) I’m not saying that she is as powerful as Void or a madden necromancer (yet), but how is the magical community going to react to her. If/when her powers keep increasing with no apparent insanity. It brings to mind the future the demon showed Emily where she is chained and about to be stripped of her powers. I would only think that would happen if enough people were worried that they might need to put a stop to a situation that in their eyes is about to explode.

  15. Dan June 5, 2017 at 8:44 am #

    Chris,
    SIM 13, 14 and 15 please

  16. Vapori June 5, 2017 at 11:24 am #

    Yes as a question, both SIM Bookworm and the Zero series have a pretty similar magic system if I read it correctly.
    Might there be a possibility for a crossover, I mean there could be a number of reasons for the differences, for example a different mana Level, when no permanent hexes are possible in Zero, but they seem possible in Bookworm and SIM, might be just a difference in the Mana density of the respective wordl?

    • chrishanger June 9, 2017 at 8:19 pm #

      The Zero Blessing and SIM are incompatible, unless one character jumps to another universe.

      Chris

      • Kaesha June 9, 2017 at 11:29 pm #

        I think that would be an interesting read for SIM books way in the future 😉 I mean Emily came from Earth to the Nameless World. What’s to stop her from finding a way or accidently ending up in another Universe for a short period of time. Just saying….

      • Wazman June 9, 2017 at 11:49 pm #

        How about Emily traveling to our world, but in the far distant past. Who knows maybe she was started our belief in magic here

      • chrishanger June 10, 2017 at 10:02 pm #

        Nothing

        But it would cause some headaches if she crossed into a universe that was published by a different publisher.

        Chris

  17. Uffe June 5, 2017 at 4:49 pm #

    Just read “Their darkest hours” and when I reached what I thought would be the conclusion I realised that there is going to be at least one more book.
    Whar are Your plans for that? Is it going to come up in the near future?

    • chrishanger June 9, 2017 at 8:21 pm #

      I have a plan. I just haven’t turned it into a story yet.

      Chris

  18. David Graf June 6, 2017 at 12:35 am #

    When will it be out on Amazon? I went to the site but it doesn’t say anything yet about updates for the Invasion of 1950 book.

  19. redrake June 9, 2017 at 10:27 am #

    The Invasion of 1950 was the first of your books that I read. Glad to see its still updated. A sequel might also be good to see, especially since Himmler is now looking into jewish sciences…

Leave a Reply

