More Updates/Schedule

8 May

This is another update (sorry), but it is somewhat more detailed <grin>.

First, Wolf’s Bane is currently being uploaded to Amazon. I hope to have it ready for purchase by the end of the day, at which point I’ll update the website, make the announcement on the blog, etc. I don’t have a due date – yet – for the audio version.

Second, Trial by Fire (audio) is definitely on its way – current planned publication date is 13th June. As you can see, it has a cool cover.

Third, Fists of Justice is currently getting its second major publisher edit – each book in the series gets two – and I hope to get it out to you within two weeks. No promises on this, though. It depends on how much editing I have to do.

Fourth, I plan to start writing Becalmed tomorrow. There’ll be a couple of gaps in the writing schedule, but I hope to get it finished before the deadline.

Fifth, I’ll be at the Nine Worlds Convention in London. (I don’t know if I’ll be on any panels ATM, but I’ll probably be hanging around the Elsewhen Press table a lot.) If you’re going and you want to reserve a copy of a signed book, please let me know at least a week before the convention.

My future plans have gotten a little mixed up. I was intending to start The Unwritten Words (Bookworm series two) trilogy in July, but The Zero Blessing has been a considerable success and it might be better to concentrate on that first. I also have several plots for Schooled in Magic I need to turn into reality. What do you think?

June – The Longest Day (Ark 10, stand-alone)

July – Cat’s Paw (The Unwritten Words, Bookworm series two)

August – The Zero Curse (The Zero Enigma II)

September – Poison Pen (SIM 13)

October – The Cruel Stars (Ark 11, stand-alone)

November – Graduation Day (SIM 14)

Thoughts?

Chris

94 Responses to “More Updates/Schedule”

  1. Enwezor May 8, 2017 at 3:10 pm #

    Schooled in Magic gets my vote Chris!!

    • Anonymous May 9, 2017 at 9:34 pm #

      +1

    • Issac May 10, 2017 at 6:17 am #

      seconded…

    • Conrad Bassett Jr. May 11, 2017 at 2:26 am #

      I agree

      • Kell Harris May 11, 2017 at 6:56 am #

        the same. SIM all the way. Also it might be good to prioritize zero blessing over bookworm.. Higher rate of success,

    • Seamus Curran May 18, 2017 at 7:54 pm #

      Ditto.

  2. FarWalker May 8, 2017 at 3:14 pm #

    It sounds great. Don’t know when you sleep but I do enjoy your books. I’m especially interested in seeing what your next Bookworm series looks like. Also great to know that three more SIM books will be coming this year if all goes well.

  3. Daniel May 8, 2017 at 3:26 pm #

    Flip poison pen and cats paw unless cats paw is eating a hole in your head just trying to get written

  4. benbailey12373 May 8, 2017 at 3:28 pm #

    Yeah I agree with flipping Cat’s Paw and Poison Pen. The idea of you not writing another SIM book until september made me want to cry lol.

    • chrishanger May 10, 2017 at 11:00 am #

      I might. No promises, but we will see.

      Chris

  5. georgephillies May 8, 2017 at 3:48 pm #

    I prefer your magic books to your space warfare books, but that may be me. However, the voice of the market is the voice of God.

  6. bretwallach May 8, 2017 at 3:49 pm #

    My favorite of your series is Schooled in Magic, but you’re gonna write what you’re gonna write, right? If so, the order doesn’t matter all that much.

  7. Bman May 8, 2017 at 4:15 pm #

    Is SIM Trial by Fire going to come out on audiobook any time soon?

  8. Rick Stuckwisch May 8, 2017 at 4:20 pm #

    Keep up the good work, Chris. I’m excited to see that you’ve got several Schooled in Magic books in the near-future pipeline. Love that series, and I’m always eager for the next installment. I also loved the Zero Blessing, and I’m looking forward to the sequel, so thumbs up on that, as well. And I’ve been anxiously awaiting the second Bookworm series, also, so, even if you have to delay that for the sake of the others, I do hope you’ll be able to fit that into the schedule before too long. Please know that your work is appreciated and much enjoyed. Sincerely, Rick Stuckwischdrstuckwisch@sbcglobal.net

  9. Chad Brink May 8, 2017 at 4:24 pm #

    Write what brings in the money first. Then, after becoming filthy rich and even more successful you can lazy away and hire ghost writers to fill in all the story’s you didn’t get around to finishing.

    • allyk May 8, 2017 at 9:06 pm #

      ghost writers, co-authors, i don’t care, something

  10. Elodie May 8, 2017 at 4:49 pm #

    More schooled in magic !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Lance Kinslow May 8, 2017 at 5:30 pm #

    The SIM books have my vote. As soon as I see the newest one listed I get it and read in one sitting.

  12. Jensebaum May 8, 2017 at 5:38 pm #

    The more SIM, the better! I’m also looking forward to the Zero Curse, and I enjoyed the first Bookworm series, so there is a lot of nice stuff coming 🙂

    • FarWalker May 8, 2017 at 6:53 pm #

      Well said. My sentiments exactly.

  13. Jack Hudler May 8, 2017 at 5:58 pm #

    Speaking entirely for your youngest beta reader of course. If you didn’t do Zero in July. She would spend her entire Christmas and Birthday money she was saving, use it to buy a plane ticket to PAY YOU A VISIT!
    That is of course fine with me, as I’ll have to come too, and as penance for her affrontery, drag her around a few of my favorite islay distilleries; Laphroaig, Lagavulin, Caol Ila, Talisker, with a side trip to Jura, depending on the health of me liver.

    • FarWalker May 8, 2017 at 6:55 pm #

      Sounds like a nice tour. Especially the single malts.

    • chrishanger May 10, 2017 at 11:03 am #

      That is a terrible threat .

      I generally try to alternate pro-published/indie books so TZC will probably come out in August.

      Chris

      • Jack Hudler May 11, 2017 at 9:47 am #

        Well she has her nose buried in the SIM series and at the rate she’s going with her extracurricular activities, plus 3 weeks as Oklahoma City University; August should be just about right.

      • chrishanger May 14, 2017 at 8:54 pm #

        I’ll try and have more books out by then

        Chris

  14. Kaesha May 8, 2017 at 6:11 pm #

    I definitely am excited to see two more novels of SIM this year’s as well, and would wish for more, but I understand needing to take a break from those storylines to write other books. That way while dreaming through the months you’re not writing SIM you’ll discover new ways to make the future books entriguing. You’re doing an amazing job Chris! 👍

  15. Vapori May 8, 2017 at 6:30 pm #

    SIM gets my vote as well the series is amazing.

  16. G May 8, 2017 at 6:49 pm #

    Please flip Cat’s Paw and Poison Pen!!–and I hope Emily finally begins to have more political influence in politics in the Allied lands… Thanks for the great series!!

  17. Craig May 8, 2017 at 7:09 pm #

    Ark Royal

  18. William Ameling May 8, 2017 at 7:11 pm #

    So two more SIM books to finish off School (at Whitehall at least, I still think we may see Strong Hold in the un named book title following that). That makes 2 SIM books per school year with 2 extras in 5th year. The SIM series is my favorite of your books, I have read several (but not all) of the other book series.

    Emily has to finish her apprenticeship before they will even start taking her seriously at the magical/political level (not counting whatever happens with her Barony).

    From the titles I have seen listed for later SIM books, I think it will take the next 4 books (15 to 18) to finish off her apprenticeship and get Alassa in as queen of Zangaria, which should also settle what is going to happen to Cockatrice and Emily.

  19. bretwallach May 8, 2017 at 7:18 pm #

    Interesting.

    So far the votes for more fantasy books (especially SIM) are overwhelming, yet I’m sure the SF series are popular too.

    Is it that fantasy readers are more likely to follow your blog? I think I’ve noticed this same effect for other writers: the fantasy series always get the most votes way out of proportion to their popularity.

    • Jensebaum May 9, 2017 at 1:38 pm #

      Is it out of proportion? What is actually Chris best-selling series?

      • chrishanger May 10, 2017 at 11:08 am #

        Ark Royal, followed by The Empire’s Corps and SIM.

        Chris

  20. Maggie May 8, 2017 at 7:35 pm #

    SIM is best! I would love to see a male lead in a fantasy by you also, maybe in the sim world?

    • bretwallach May 8, 2017 at 8:15 pm #

      Interesting.

      At this point I only read fantasy books with female leads written by male authors or male leads written by female authors. I tend to dislike, often strongly, the other two combinations – not sure why.

      Do you not find Emily a believable character or her interactions with others believable?

      • Maggie May 12, 2017 at 6:05 pm #

        To me fantasy books are just fun to read. Emily is well written and I enjoy SIM.

        I have read lots of fantasy books by male and female authors. When a male writes about a strong female lead I tend to find places in the story where think that’s not what I would do or feel…it takes me out of the story somewhat. This happens less to me with Female authors writing female lead. Well, we all disagree with authors sometime but it’s his story and if I did not enjoy his books I would not have so many of them.

        I would just like to read about a male lead in a fantasy written by Chris.

      • chrishanger May 14, 2017 at 8:58 pm #

        I’ll just have to think of a plot

        Chris

    • FarWalker May 8, 2017 at 8:33 pm #

      A male lead would make a nice change of pace.

  21. allyk May 8, 2017 at 8:50 pm #

    higher cadence

    obviously you spend too much time goofing off and need to get back to the grindstone

    alternatively, maybe some co-authors? where you sketch the plot and they write the book? Sorry, I read your books for the story, not the scintillating prose (‘he said flatly’)

  22. deborahbyrnepsychologyservices May 8, 2017 at 9:45 pm #

    Very hooked on a number of your series so can’t wait for more of SIM, Zero, Bookworm please soon as possible

  23. Mike May 9, 2017 at 12:20 am #

    Have you ever thought of dabbling in the post apocalyptic genre? Any plans on coming to the States?

  24. Jared May 9, 2017 at 1:44 am #

    its nice to see more schooled in magic books in this schedule. I have become a reluctant fan of The Zero Blessing, lol, so that’s exciting.

  25. Bradley May 9, 2017 at 4:23 am #

    One of the things I love about the SIM series is your fast publication schedule. Thanks for all of your hard work!

  26. Billy McCorkle May 9, 2017 at 4:34 am #

    I vote for SIM but heck I read everything you publish. What happened to the Royal Sorceress series?

    • chrishanger May 10, 2017 at 11:05 am #

      It’s got two more in the pipeline at some point.

      Chris

  27. James Crutchley May 9, 2017 at 4:51 am #

    OMG your release schedule is just crazy!!! So many books released so fast. I have only been reading Sim as i could never get into any of the others. Keep trying to read them but never get that far. I have been eagerly awaiting the latest SIM and I am really happy to hear its getting closer to release. I have been waiting for something to read as most of the authors i am reading are all between books. Your the only one that releases books at my pace lol. I am just shocked at how quick you write. And suprising is all of the SIM books are very good. The last Honor Harrington by David Weber left me feeling really mad and hoping up until i finished it that it would not end with me wondering why he decided to essentially write a filler book with no new content etc. Sorry for rant but my point was none of your books have ever felt that way. They all build on your existing universes and u don’t have the habbit of writing a very long book about random pointless trivial place and events!

  28. G May 9, 2017 at 5:18 am #

    I hope Emily keeps her position as a Baroness or Duchess under Alassa in the future, as I always enjoyed her moving back and forth between magical and aristocratic society–it make the books so interesting–but Chris seems to be bringing her back to Zangaria one more time in books 15 and 16 before moving her to Void’s tower or Heart’s Eye and leaving Zangaria behind…

  29. Katja May 9, 2017 at 1:50 pm #

    Hello Chris,

    I’m totally pro SIM, Zero, and Bookworm and I’m excited about a second Bookworm series. Personally, I’d agree with everyone here who said to switch cat’s paw and poison pen (SIM is my favorite!), but I understand if some ideas want to be written down more urgently than others.
    In general, I’d like to let you know that I’m extremely appreciative of your speed and the frequency with which you publish your books. Nothing is more hell for a hungry reader than having to wait for years for the sequel!
    Thanks,
    Katja

  30. Ken May 9, 2017 at 8:10 pm #

    Chris,
    My uncle and I have finally made it through your entire library of work and we both stand in awe of your prolific work and how great your stories and character development are.

    Keep up the great work and you’ll continue to keep these two voracious readers happy!
    Best,
    Ken

  31. mathias May 9, 2017 at 8:23 pm #

    hi chris,

    if you really want to know my opinion about your schedule … i like:

    June – Poison Pen (SIM 13)

    July – Cat’s Paw (The Unwritten Words, Bookworm series two)

    August – Graduation Day (SIM 14)

    September – The Longest Day (Ark 10, stand-alone)

    October – The Zero Curse (The Zero Enigma II)

    November – The Cruel Stars (Ark 11, stand-alone)

    sorry 😉 but i really like sim from all of your books most

    kind regards
    mathias

  32. DOUGLAS May 10, 2017 at 12:14 am #

    Thank you for the update. I’ve been rereading the school of magic books. Just finished book 6 or seven don’t member which and found out where you got the title for the upcoming book fist of justice.

    • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard May 10, 2017 at 12:27 am #

      Hint. Earlier in the series, Chris introduced an “Order” called the Hands Of Justice. 😉

  33. William Ameling May 11, 2017 at 4:00 am #

    We (Emily) saw the Hands of Justice in Wedding Hells when Emily visited Beneficence and Caleb’s Parents, as well as Marcus, Melissa and the Bank he started with Emily’s help and ideas in Beneficence. The Hands were trying to recruit to religion of the God of Justice and were helping to police the city. Emily thought about the problems that might cause based on Earth’s history. I think that they may be extending their reach into neighboring Cockatrice and Swanhaven, and are probably being used as a tool in the troubles of Swanhaven by the mysterious bad guy magician, Nanette’s new boss. It has been less than a year since that visit by Emily to Beneficence and the events at Alassa’s Wedding.

  34. David Hurwitz May 11, 2017 at 6:24 am #

    Will there be an audiobook of Wolf’s Bane and when?

    • chrishanger May 14, 2017 at 8:52 pm #

      Yes, but I don’t know when as yet.

      Chris

      • David Hurwitz May 15, 2017 at 4:45 pm #

        Thanks for the update

  35. Birtha May 11, 2017 at 11:43 am #

    More schooled in magic, I beg of you. I’m so in love with the series I can’t express it properly.

  36. Maggie May 14, 2017 at 5:35 am #

    The Royal Sorceress is very good also. Another one would be nice.

  37. Heather Hunting May 14, 2017 at 5:34 pm #

    Really glad to hear trial by fire is about to be released on audio! I have listened to the first 5 and was disappointed after the preview to find that it was not available.

  38. joseph beaufait May 16, 2017 at 7:58 pm #

    Reading The zero blessing, I was having a hard time placing it in time in the Sim universe. Can you comment on that? I just didn’t find a definitive tell or any mention of Emily.

    • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard May 16, 2017 at 8:00 pm #

      That’s because it is a different universe than the universe in Schooled In Magic. 😉

      • joseph beaufait May 16, 2017 at 8:56 pm #

        i thought some of the dialog here said that it was supposed to be a different story line in the same universe and although it has been a couple of months since I read it I thought they mentioned some of the school names that were the same. Are you sure?

      • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard May 16, 2017 at 9:14 pm #

        Nod, I’m sure.

        For that matter, Chris had said that when he first got the idea he was thinking about putting in the SIM universe but realized that it wouldn’t fit into what he had already written in the SIM universe.

      • joseph beaufait May 16, 2017 at 9:02 pm #

        Must just be the similarities in the magic and world set up. Thanks

    • chrishanger May 22, 2017 at 11:29 am #

      It’s a separate universe

      Chris

  39. Wazman May 17, 2017 at 3:49 am #

    So happy about the audio version for Trial of Fire is coming out shortly as well as Fists of Justice is just beyond the horizon. Call me sentimental but I still like to have a paper copy (I’ve been known to be a little rough on kindles currently on my fourth) the last paper addition was Infinite Regress. Are there any plans for the Past Tense and beyond?

    • chrishanger May 22, 2017 at 11:30 am #

      It’s on the way. I just approved the cover design.

      Chris

  40. Mark May 18, 2017 at 2:09 pm #

    Chris. I am with the SIM crowd I do like Ark Royal but gutted and Georges death it just seems so unfair but that just like life. I do like the Angel in a Whirlwind series but as well as the Bookworm Series (in fact most of your books) but SIM to me stands a head above the rest really looking forward to Fists of Justice

    • Daniel May 18, 2017 at 6:09 pm #

      Do we have a release date for fists of justice yet?

      • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard May 18, 2017 at 6:40 pm #

        Not soon enough. 😉

      • peter May 18, 2017 at 7:42 pm #

        I look every day and pray to god 🙂

      • chrishanger May 22, 2017 at 11:34 am #

        Now!

        Chris

    • chrishanger May 22, 2017 at 11:33 am #

      Thank you!

      Chris

  41. FarWalker May 18, 2017 at 9:47 pm #

    I have been checking the blog twice a day for the past few days hoping to see a release date. Oh well it’s better than waiting on your wife to deliver your first child. But not by much 😄

    • Wazman May 20, 2017 at 3:55 am #

      I wonder what Chris’s website access counter would look like. Scary I remember when that used to be a important stat to track back in the day.

  42. Pixie May 20, 2017 at 3:41 am #

    Is 2 weeks up yet? We get new book now? Please 😢

  43. Jared May 21, 2017 at 11:16 pm #

    You know Chris it would be funny to see Emily answer the question of how she killed mother holly. She doesn’t have to tell them exactly what she did she could just say. E=MC2 lol

    • Daniel May 22, 2017 at 3:13 am #

      i think that would be amazing

    • chrishanger May 22, 2017 at 11:49 am #

      True. But she’d be leery about saying anything.

      Chris

      • curiosity May 23, 2017 at 7:04 am #

        hi chris,
        Is the 13th book called poison pen or the gordian knot?

        thanks.

      • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard May 23, 2017 at 3:06 pm #

        I asked Chris about that and Chris said that he renamed “Poison Pen” to “The Gordian Knot”.

        Same story, just a different title.

      • chrishanger May 27, 2017 at 9:43 pm #

        The latter. I renamed.

        Chris

      • daniel May 28, 2017 at 5:42 pm #

        so i enjoyed fists of justice. i’m actully glad that Calib and Emily broke up as this opens up many possibilites for Emily to grow much more. Also the idea that there could be other caches of scrools left for emily by Master Wolfe is very interesting.

        Grandmaster Hastrubal, is Void the other surviving brother?

      • Jared June 9, 2017 at 9:18 pm #

        Or she could say about killing shade. ” I harnessed the power of a dying star.” Lol

      • chrishanger June 10, 2017 at 10:01 pm #

        It would be technically true, too.

        Chris

  44. john gruchow May 22, 2017 at 9:34 am #

    Fists of Justice is out on Amazon

  45. elcris May 25, 2017 at 12:26 pm #

    My vote goes to SIM. I read all the books in this series and I am always disappointed that I have to wait so long for the next book 🙂

  46. Dom June 2, 2017 at 9:46 am #

    Loving the schooled in magic books. Hate that I’ve run out and now need to wait for Gordian’s knot! Any chance of being a beta reader?

  47. Matt Harris July 17, 2017 at 7:50 pm #

    I would love for you to finish “Schooled in Magic series” asap! I love the series and am going to be completely through all existing books shortly.

    • Jared July 18, 2017 at 1:38 am #

      Hey now reading all the books would be cool yet I’m not in a hurry to reach the end. Lol

Leave a Reply

