Happy New Year!

1 Jan

Before I begin, I would like to take this moment to wish all my fans a happy new year. Thank you very much for reading my books. <grin>

And now, what can you expect from me in 2017?

First, We Lead (Book 9 of Ark Royal) should be up for purchase by the time I post this message. (I’ll do the normal post to the mailing list and so on over the next few days.)

Second, I have the next set of edits for The Sergeant’s Apprentice, which I hope to complete by the 2nd. Ideally, there will be no need for a third edit and the book will go online shortly.

Third, the audio version of The School of Hard Knocks should be out in the middle of January. Watch this space.

Fourth, Books III and IV of Angel in the Whirlwind are coming out in March and June respectively (both should be up for pre-order now). Book V – a standalone – has already been plotted, with books VI-VIII in the works.

Fifth, I have a number of plots written for the coming year. Books 12-14 of Schooled in Magic (Fists of Justice, Poison Pen, Graduation Day) have been plotted – ideally, two of them should be written this year. Books 10-11 of Ark Royal have been planned. Book 1 of The Unwritten Word (the Bookworm sequel) has also been plotted, along with a handful of stand-alone books. You should see most of them over the coming year.

Sixth, and finally, the paperback versions of Semper Fi, The Outcast and To The Shores (and audio versions of Schooled In Magic) are also on the way. As the paperbacks of The Empire’s Corps have largely paid for themselves, I don’t see any reason to delay giving the next set a final edit and then uploading them.

(If you have already purchased the eBooks of Semper Fi and The Outcast, please go to Amazon to download the latest version – a handful of minor corrections and suchlike … and a new cover.)

And I will be continuing my observations on politics, government and other related matters on my blog.

Thank you for reading – and I hope you all have a very good new year!

Chris

12 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. James Crutchley January 1, 2017 at 2:43 am #

    Can hardly wait for Sergeants Apprentice !!! I have been waiting for that book hoping to see it on amazon for a while. I am so happy to hear it may be available soon 🙂 I have your blog and amazon page plus facebook all in pinned tabs on chrome lol.

  2. benbailey12373 January 1, 2017 at 4:28 am #

    Happy New Year Chris

    A bit gutted that you’re only aiming for two SIM books this year. Pretty pretty please try for three, especially as you’ve already plotted 12-14. Absolutely love SIM series so I don’t think I could cope with only two! Lol x

    • chrishanger January 3, 2017 at 8:59 pm #

      I will try. Books 13 and 14 have to be written close together anyway.

      Chris

  3. Conrad Bassett Jr. January 1, 2017 at 4:55 am #

    I look forward to the continuation of the Schooled in Magic Series.

  4. thundercloud47 January 1, 2017 at 4:57 am #

    Happy New year to you and your family Chis. I’ll be looking forward to any new books you publish this year!

  5. Jas P January 1, 2017 at 5:37 am #

    Happy New Year to you and your family Chris!
    Best of luck with all your future endeavours, hope the year is a good one for you, and thanks for all your time and effort in the past year with your fantastic writing, I love the Royal Ark and Empire series and A Learning Experience to. Look forward to more interesting blog posts throughout the year as well.
    Cheers
    Jas

  6. Anarchymedes January 1, 2017 at 6:14 am #

    Thanks, Chris: I think I might have pre-ordered the Angel in the Whirlwind III already – not sure, need to double-check. The current drought on stories, felt both at the Kindle store and in Hollywood (look at all the recent blockbusters: either re-makes of something, or continuing a franchise, maybe by plugging holes in the older installments, or adapting videogames) makes me wonder what does it take to come up with a good story, and how the movies like The Rock, or Speed (the first one), or The Book of Eli have happened. Your books have given me an excellent example of how to handle politics: you’re really good at that. If I were an author, my characters would care about each other more than about any politicorporate intrugues, and be driven by their own inner urges (which we all try to wrap into rational motives),’duty’ defined by the social expectations be damned. For example, in Angel in the Whirlwind II, that horrible image of women with their will surgically removed would’ve been the primary motivating force for my heroine, and the hyperspace chases and battles, especially the final one, would’ve taken a lot more room, and been graphic enough for a Heavy Metal music video. And her romance with that marine captain…but I guess each onto his own, and politics is also an interesting and important part of both the real and fictitious life.

  7. Yanai Siegel January 1, 2017 at 12:09 pm #

    Best wishes for a very Happy New Year. A happy and healthy new year for you and your family.

    Yanai Siegel

  8. Les Barrie (Scottish borders) January 5, 2017 at 10:41 am #

    Any more books featuring stalkers stakers,Avalon and the commonwealth planned, they are what first brought your writing to my attention and are still some of my favourite even though the genre has go ballistic recently.
    All the best for 2017.
    Les

  9. Isa January 6, 2017 at 12:32 pm #

    Happy new year!!
    I love SIM. And I can’t wait for next book, do you know when it is going to be released? As it’s killing me not knowing.

Leave a Reply

