Paperbacks … And a Few Other Things

4 Sep

This is really a second update post (I know – I’m being cheeky).

As of now, I’ve started processing No Worse Enemy, When The Bough Breaks, Outside Context Problem, Under Foot and The Slightest Hope of Victory for CreateSpace Paperback. Ragnarok will join them in a few days, once we have the spread cover finalised. I’m hoping to get them out in paperback within the month.

I’m not sure how many more books will be added – right now, setting them up professionally costs money and while some of the books I’ve put up have paid for themselves, others have not. I’m going to wait to see how the first three Empire’s Corps do in paperback before committing to getting the remainder edited and uploaded.

I’ve also signed a contract to bring out all three Twilight of the Gods books in audio format. I’m hoping the first will be out within the next couple of months, but I don’t have any real control over recording times and suchlike.

Unlucky (Angel in the Whirlwind III) has been renamed Cursed Command. It’s gone through its second set of edits and should be out in all formats in a couple of months or so. Watch my Facebook page for pre-order details when they are up.

I’m hoping to start The Hammer of God (Angel IV) tomorrow. Hopefully, most of it will be drafted out before FANTASYCON, but we will see.

This will be followed by Culture Shock (The Empire’s Corps XIII) and then The Sergeant’s Apprentice (SIM 11) and We Lead (Ark Royal IX).

I’ve been asked how many books there will be in Schooled In Magic. The short answer is that I don’t know. Provisional titles for the next few books are The Fists of Justice, (UNNAMED), The Pen and the Sword, Graduation Day, Mirror Image … I have a number of ideas that still need to be worked out and fitted into their proper place. Naturally, I hope you’ll continue to read.

Anyway, The Hammer of God starts tomorrow.

Chris

18 Responses to “Paperbacks … And a Few Other Things”

  1. Bugs September 5, 2016 at 12:03 am #

    Cant wait for more Schooled in magic story.. I havent been so captivated in a series since Harry Potter, and despite being an adult and an old fart, your books are an awesome read

  2. Adam September 5, 2016 at 2:32 am #

    I am so glad to hear SIM is coming back soon and that you plan to keep adding more books. I keep reading your updates waiting on new SIM news.

  3. Billy September 5, 2016 at 3:04 am #

    With so many channels on TV, it would be neat if one of your books was turned into a TV series or a movie. I like Schooled in Magic for that.

    • chrishanger September 8, 2016 at 4:18 pm #

      Tell the producers . So far, not a peep.

      Chris

  4. Jan September 5, 2016 at 1:00 pm #

    I’m delighted to read about so many Schooled In Magic continuations, my favorite series!

  5. Jensebaum September 6, 2016 at 1:04 pm #

    No fixed number of books in SIM… Well, on the one hand that’s great, more awesome books to come! On the other, I’ve seen a lot of good book series dragged out way too far. SIM doesn’t seem to be in any danger of this yet, the ideas still feel fresh and very entertaining, but it might be time to slowly start wrapping up the background story – if only for the sake of my curiosity xD
    Who is Cloak? Who is Nanette’s master? And who is the mysterious man who turned the bird-magician on Emily? Presumably, they are the same person, who might be Void. But if so, why is he doing all of this? Not to mention the pesky little necromancer problem… and the guy who gave Mother Holly the book and skull, bringing us right back to the aforementioned – Argh! I want to know! I need to know!

    SIM is easily one of the most enthralling series I’ve read in recent years, and I’m impatiently waiting for the next novel, and also the conclusion, which I hope will be as satisfying as the end of Bookworm was.

  6. Dan September 7, 2016 at 4:26 am #

    Wait. Cursed Command is MONTHS away? Aawwww

    • chrishanger September 8, 2016 at 4:24 pm #

      They like to get everything out at the same time – ebook, paperback, audio, etc.

      Chris

      • Dan September 9, 2016 at 4:19 am #

        Just saw Cursed Command pop up for pre-order on Amazon…. March 7, 2017! Long time to wait if accurate. Can’t I have my instant gratification? Ah, well. Just have to content myself with waiting for the next book in any of the series to pop up.

        Go Banana!

      • chrishanger September 10, 2016 at 4:08 pm #

        It may be sooner. It depends on when they get everything ready.

        Chris

  7. Don Yu September 7, 2016 at 8:39 am #

    I don’t see SIM going to finish anytime soon since there is 2 books per years of Emily’s life and since she should live more then 70 years and depend on what is developed 100 years is not impossible soo…….200 boooks hahahaha

  8. PuffinMuffin September 8, 2016 at 12:52 pm #

    I think it will end when she goes back to Earth and turns her father in law into a frog.

    • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard September 8, 2016 at 2:08 pm #

      Step-Father. 😉

      Seriously, I doubt she thinks it’s “worth the trouble” to go back to get “revenge” on him.

  9. Genevieve Bos September 8, 2016 at 6:20 pm #

    Would really really really hope you can do more soon on the Schooled in Magic Series Also, is anyone representing you for a TV or movie series? The story line is ripe and wonderful it. Being in the USA and Atlanta the epicenter of the film industry these days, would love to see a strong female lead – fans are hungry for it. Happy to help if I can. Let me know. Genevieve

    • chrishanger September 10, 2016 at 4:07 pm #

      Not as yet, but if you know anyone who might be interested please give them a poke

  10. Maggie September 9, 2016 at 10:13 pm #

    Just wondering if you are going to continue The Royal Sorceress books? I would love another.

    • chrishanger September 10, 2016 at 4:09 pm #

      I have two more planned. But it will take time to bring them out.

      Chris

      • Maggie September 10, 2016 at 8:36 pm #

        Thank you.

Leave a Reply

