Progress Report (Of Sorts)

14 Jul

It’s been a frustrating week.

For various reasons – family holiday – I ended up starting Unlucky and then needing to take a few days off. I’ve actually got a deadline for this, which isn’t helped by needing to take more days off as we make our slow way home. But I am reasonably hopeful of completing the first draft in time.

(If you sent me an email and I haven’t replied, this is probably why. Sorry.)

I’ve also been working my way through the second set of edits of Past Tense. It’s the usual spelling errors and suchlike, but a few scenes needed to be fiddled with to improve the story. I hope to get it back to the publisher in a day or two, then see what they have to say about it.

On a different note, the publication date for the audio version of The Black Sheep and They Shall Not Pass will be August 2nd. I don’t have any word yet on the publication dates for Schooled in Magic and Fear God and Dread Naught, but they are on their way.

The paperback edition of Fear God and Dread Naught should be available within the next two weeks.

I’m planning to do a major edit of The Empire’s Corps and the Outside Context Problem in preparation for adding them to CreateSpace paperback. I’m hoping to start this process in early august, but they have already been forced back by other demands.

Finally, I’m not sure what to write after Unlucky.

I have a working plan for The Long Road Home (A Learning Experience 4) and Culture Shock (The Empires Corps 13). But I also want to do Ragnarok (Twilight of the Gods 3) as soon as possible. What would you like to see next?

(I have a plan for SIM 11 and an outline for Vanguard III, but they’re being put back for the moment.)

And now I need to go back to work <grin>

Chris

53 Responses to “Progress Report (Of Sorts)”

  1. gregory July 14, 2016 at 2:33 pm #

    Finish off a series and do Ragnarok.

    • chrishanger July 15, 2016 at 12:07 pm #

      It’s on the list, but i need to finish outlining the plot.

      Chris

  2. Jim July 14, 2016 at 2:53 pm #

    There darkest hour 2. Pretty please !

  3. Michael Misenheimer July 14, 2016 at 3:26 pm #

    Steady on Chris. It will all work out. I too am dealing with frustration, I have new things I would really like to be reading, however, 3 days ago I developed an infection in my right eye that has now turned into a really bothersome sty. This too shall pass. (Sigh)

  4. Claud July 14, 2016 at 4:07 pm #

    Culture Shock (The Empires Corps 13), please.

  5. Richard Parks July 14, 2016 at 4:39 pm #

    I would love to see either Empire Corps or Learning Experience. But then again any of your series are good!

    Are there any new series or stand alone books planned?

    • chrishanger July 15, 2016 at 12:07 pm #

      I have a couple of stand-alones being planned, but i will need to slot them in at some point.

      Chris

  6. Adam July 14, 2016 at 5:34 pm #

    As someone who isn’t interested in Sci Fi, but loves your fantasy books, I hope we don’t have to wait too long for SIM 11. Are there any other new sorcery type books planned?

    • chrishanger July 15, 2016 at 12:08 pm #

      I have a couple of ideas, but they will take time.

      Chris

  7. Billy July 14, 2016 at 6:41 pm #

    I would like to see a book with all the major characters from all your series are somehow transported somewhere so that they have to work together to do or fix something before they can be sent back to their respective universes etc

  8. Stephen York July 14, 2016 at 7:58 pm #

    Empires Corps 13 would be great. Any thoughts on adding the emperor back in or exploring more with the Trade Federation?

  9. Gardner Friedlander July 14, 2016 at 10:54 pm #

    Selfishly, I’d like either The Long Road Home (A Learning Experience 4) and Culture Shock (The Empires Corps 13), since I’ve already started those series.

  10. Micah July 14, 2016 at 11:18 pm #

    Empires Corp would be my vote! Would love to see how the young emperor is doing!

    • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard July 14, 2016 at 11:25 pm #

      Young Emperor?

      The person formerly known as Prince Roland doesn’t acknowledge that he’s Emperor. 😉

      Seriously, I’d like to see what Roland is up to as well. 😀

  11. Mark July 14, 2016 at 11:19 pm #

    Definitely need a fresh hit of the Corps, I think 🙂 Shortly followed by LE4 🙂

  12. DOUGLAS July 14, 2016 at 11:29 pm #

    Thank you keeping us informed. Doug.

  13. John Stephens July 14, 2016 at 11:46 pm #

    I would be happy with the Long Road Home or Culture Shock next. I like both series. That said, my favorite series of yours are Learning Experience and Schooled in Magic but I am happy reading most anything you write.

  14. Carlos Andres Arango Salas July 15, 2016 at 2:13 am #

    I love SIM so please don’t take too long for future releases, can’t wait to know what happens to Emily

    • chrishanger July 15, 2016 at 12:08 pm #

      I just completed the second set of edits, so hopefully we are moving towards the final stage.

      Chris

  15. thundercloud47 July 15, 2016 at 5:46 am #

    I don’t care what you write just write it and I’ll buy it! I’m divided between Learning Experience and Empire’s Corps.

  16. Jacqueline Harris July 15, 2016 at 7:48 am #

    I am really impressed your can write so much at one time. Have you always been this disciplined with writing or did it develop overtime? I am looking forward to past tense I can’t wait to read it.

  17. Les Barrie July 15, 2016 at 11:31 am #

    culture shock please,like most of your writing but the empire corp is superb

  18. Harmony July 15, 2016 at 7:03 pm #

    I would vote for The Devil and the Deep Blue Sea (Their Darkest Hour 2) or Coup D’etat and its sequel. When will Coup be available for purchase? It was posted at Baen back in 2012

  19. Blake Rainwater July 15, 2016 at 9:34 pm #

    Sorry to hear you had an /Unlucky/ week, hope you have more luck next week. Cannot wait for next SIM book! Just wish it was available for my birthday today. Talk about a great present! lol

  20. Mike Strong July 15, 2016 at 10:04 pm #

    Empire Corps 13 – It’s my favorite series by you and one of my favorites overall.

  21. Chad Renteria July 16, 2016 at 12:41 am #

    Your a great writer Chris keep it up. also I know its soon but I can’t contain my excitement for (Sim) 10 sooooooo ETA for that if you can please ………Great!!!!! Your awesome I wish schooled in magic will never end hahaha

  22. Richard Olson July 16, 2016 at 2:57 am #

    I would vote for Culture Shock, as that is my favorite series of yours. But, let’s be honest, I will probably read whatever comes next. 😀 Thanks for the updates BTW.

  23. Lindsay July 16, 2016 at 3:40 am #

    Empires Corps please Chris.

  24. bexwhitt July 16, 2016 at 11:29 pm #

    so is book 3 of a learning experience out on audio before book 2?

    • chrishanger July 17, 2016 at 3:11 am #

      Book Two is out.

      Chris

      • bexwhitt July 17, 2016 at 2:59 pm #

        It’s not showing on Audible yet

  25. denis1968 July 17, 2016 at 12:50 pm #

    Chris, have you ever considered writing something in the so-called ‘sci-fantasy’ genre? Not necessarily like the Star Wars (yes, I’ve read your review on The Force Awakens and absolutely disagree with it, but that’s a different story), but something set in a futuristic hi-tech, space-faring universe where science and maths are nevertheless not omnipotent and things happen that no one can explain (although various interpretations are possible?)
    And as far your on-going series are concerned: it looks like I’m almost the only one who wants the sequel to Unlucky. But I do hope, too, that it would be the conclusion: sometimes, it’s good to stop while it’s still hot.

    • chrishanger July 28, 2016 at 5:50 pm #

      I do have ‘Sufficiently Advanced Technology.’ (And I really need to return to that universe at some point.)

      Other than that, I’m not sure. I do have ideas, but …

      Chris

  26. Mark July 18, 2016 at 12:49 am #

    Keep going on SIM or Angel!!!

  27. Cassie James July 18, 2016 at 7:05 am #

    I hope SIM 10 and 11 doesn’t take too long

  28. Shaun Swanson July 18, 2016 at 5:04 pm #

    I just finished Fear God and Dread Naught and enjoyed the heck out of it. The different anecdotes and one liners always make chuckle and the entry about Fort Knight had me rolling. I am wondering if you are planning a spin off with George? It seemed you left the door open in the conversation with her uncle. Regardless, I look forward to the next book in the series.

    • chrishanger July 28, 2016 at 5:51 pm #

      I might. I’m not sure what to do with George for book III.

      Chris

  29. G July 20, 2016 at 8:19 am #

    Selfishly, please write SIM 11!

  30. Karen Borges July 20, 2016 at 1:36 pm #

    Stop putting SIM back, you’re killing me I have to keep waiting for the books to come out. I’m about to start rereading the books of beginning which really won’t help because I’ll be done in 9 days.

  31. Jason Jorde July 21, 2016 at 1:26 am #

    I, also, would like to encourage you on with SIM. This has been the first series of yours I have read and I have to admit to falling in love with Emily’s story. I cannot get enough ! I have found myself quite bummed to be into the first third of the 9th book, because I know once I finish, I will be without until the next is released. A bit spoilt as I’ve just totally consumed these the last couple days, thank you Chris ! I am eagerly the next release of SIM, and am looking forward to your Bookworm series.

    • Maegan July 21, 2016 at 8:09 pm #

      SIM is my absolute favorite, but I also enjoyed the Bookworm series and I would recommend reading the Royal Sorceress books next.

  32. Gazza July 21, 2016 at 10:28 am #

    Read and posted a review for book 10 =)

  33. James Crutchley July 21, 2016 at 4:32 pm #

    Read “Past Tense” today. Started it around 10 pm last night as i saw it was available. I know this sounds kind of scary but I have about 5 authors that i have bookmarked and tabbed in Chrome so every time i start browser it shows me what was published most recently. I just go through them and refresh them every couple hours to see if anything new is out there. I just wanted you to know the book was awesome and i am one of those freaky readers that stalks your amazon page waiting for the next release. I have not managed to get hooked on any of your other books but i hope i will put the effort in one day and try to read past the first couple chapters of your scifi series as i also love scifi. 🙂

    • PuffinMuffin July 22, 2016 at 2:04 am #

      There was me starting to read something else and suddenly SIM10 appears seemingly out of the blue. What to do? Oh… I think I know.

  34. Shawn Wilson July 23, 2016 at 7:29 am #

    You’ve sucked me into the Ark Royal series so my vote would be for “We Lead”. Other than that another in the Empire’s Corps series would be great….. though I haven’t caught up yet.

  35. Jeremiah July 23, 2016 at 2:27 pm #

    st finished past tense and can’t help but wonder what the demon’s next move will be…nevertheless my vote would still be sim 11

    • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard July 23, 2016 at 2:34 pm #

      Stand back and watch the fun? 👿

  36. Bill August 2, 2016 at 3:26 am #

    SIM or Angel if you please…. SIM 10 was enjoyable.

  37. Alex August 8, 2016 at 4:44 pm #

    Black Sheep is not out on audible yet, any information on the delay?

  38. Joaquin546 August 23, 2016 at 8:03 pm #

    Empire corps next please

Leave a Reply

