Updates <Grin>

7 Apr

Hi, everyone

This is, as always, just a very minor set of updates.

First, I’ve completed the first draft of Infinite Regress, the ninth book in Schooled In Magic. The manuscript is now with the editors, who will do their customary job of editing, making suggestions and then tossing it back to me for the second round.

Second, I’m planning to start Chosen of the Valkyries next week – Book II of Twilight of the Gods, following the growing Nazi Civil War. Snippets should be posted on Monday.

Third, the booksale was a reasonable success – to the point where I ran out of a number of books <grin>. I’m posting off the remaining books tomorrow, hopefully.

Fourth, we attended EASTERCON in Manchester last week, leaving me with decidedly mixed feelings.

The good news was that I had a chance to meet most of my co-authors from The Empire At War in person for the first time. We had a nice chat and swapped ideas for the future. We may wind up doing a second book if the first one is a success, but that’s probably something for next year. The self-publishing panel was great fun and I picked up a few ideas I’d missed earlier <grin>.

The bad news is that there were parts of the con that weren’t very well organised.

The Dealer’s Room, in particular, was a bit of a hassle. At least one of the dealers pulled out at short notice because the space allocated was ridiculously small and completely inadequate. In addition, the guards at the doors were far too alert – I understand objecting to non-members entering panels and suchlike, but by turning away anyone without a badge from the dealer’s room (on the last day) they probably cost some of the dealers a few sales. Obviously, there’s no way to know for sure, but it’s something to bear in mind for the future.

A secondary problem, perhaps a worse one, was the food. We went to the cafe for lunch and I was charged £9 for a burger and wedges – the wedges were cold and the burger was hardly any better. I’ve had better meals in MacDonald’s! Suffice it to say that I will not be spending money on convention food in future. The hotel’s room service menu was better, to be fair, but it was very expensive.

Anyway, that’s enough grumbling. It was good to meet a number of friends and fellow writers again – and make some new friends.

Back to work now <grin>

Chris

12 Responses to “Updates <Grin>”

  1. Gazza April 8, 2016 at 4:03 am #

    Kewl on getting SIM 9 off to get edited, waitting so that I can order my copy. Errr btw if you send me a early copy I would be willing to help read,,, err,, EDIT it. LOL well cant blame the try =) Guess I will just have to wait like the rest. Have amazon loaded just waiting for it to get posted

    • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard April 8, 2016 at 4:08 am #

      Just thought I’d comment that Amazon shows Sons Of Liberty (Royal Sorceress 04) scheduled for release on April 29th. 😉

      • chrishanger April 9, 2016 at 5:19 pm #

        Yep. It’ll be out soon.

        Chris

  2. James April 8, 2016 at 3:29 pm #

    Any plans for a Vanguard or Falcone sequel?

  3. Bret April 11, 2016 at 9:02 pm #

    So that’s just under 2 months for the rough draft of Infinite Regress?

    In an earlier post you said something about writing SIM 9 and SIM 10 close together. Have you started on SIM 10?

    • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard April 11, 2016 at 10:33 pm #

      Likely Chris will get started on SIM 10 after he finishes posting snippets of the second Nazi Civil War book.

      • chrishanger April 12, 2016 at 9:19 pm #

        That’s the plan.

        Chris

      • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard April 12, 2016 at 9:48 pm #

        It better be. 😈 😈 😈 😈

  4. 4stodjohn May 9, 2016 at 2:19 pm #

    Hi Chris When is Infinite Regress coming out please?
    I keep checking the Amazon store on my Kindle, but although you wrote Chosen of the Vs well after it, it’s still not there
    I’ve read it on the slush pile, but anything I keep reading to the finish there ,I buy
    For later and on principle
    Love the story and hope to reread it again
    Thanks John Stoddart

    • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard May 9, 2016 at 2:24 pm #

      Not Chris, but he has said it’ll come out in June. He has sent the “first edit” version to his Beta Readers for comments.

    • chrishanger May 10, 2016 at 5:05 pm #

      The plan is June. I’ve just done the first set of edits, so there will be at least one more round before the book comes out.

      Chris

Leave a Reply

