UP NOW–Vanguard (Ark Royal VII)

1 Feb

The third trilogy in the hit ‘Ark Royal’ series begins now!

HMS Vanguard is the most powerful battleship ever to be commissioned by the Royal Navy, but she is not a happy ship. Her commanding officer is eccentric, rarely seen on the bridge; her former XO has deserted his post and her first middy is resentful because he hasn’t been promoted as he deserves …

But when a first contact mission goes badly wrong, HMS Vanguard and her crew are plunged into an interstellar war against a new and deadly alien threat.

And if they don’t make it back to friendly space in time, they will merely be the first to die in a new interstellar war.

Download a FREE SAMPLE, then purchase the book from Amazon  (US/UK/CAN/AUST) NOW!

 

22 Responses to “UP NOW–Vanguard (Ark Royal VII)”

  1. chad February 2, 2016 at 12:00 am #

    finished it and it was really good, good job. now that i’m done, I really want the next one out soon to feed my fix

  2. Joel Li February 4, 2016 at 1:35 am #

    Bought my copy. Scared to read. What if I need the next book now. Seems like the start of a new arc. Too risky, must await a while longer 😛

    • chrishanger February 5, 2016 at 6:19 pm #

      There will be three books in this arc, total. But Vanguard hangs together on its own.

      Chris

  3. Lindsay February 4, 2016 at 11:06 pm #

    Excellent book, possibly my favourite of the series so far. Bring on the next one Chris!

  4. David P. Graf February 4, 2016 at 11:34 pm #

    I am really upset after reading this book. I don’t want to wait a year or even a few days to read the sequel. I WANT IT NOW! This was really a good read.

    • Joel Li February 5, 2016 at 1:09 am #

      This is why I trying to not read the book yet. Most probably cave after Chinese New Year. 😀

    • chrishanger February 5, 2016 at 6:20 pm #

      Great! But book 2 won’t be out for a few months. I’ll try to get it done ASAP.

      Chris

      • Tripp Winslow February 7, 2016 at 2:02 am #

        Really liked the book. Looking forward to the sequel! Very curious to see what happens to Onarina. Thanks!

      • chrishanger February 9, 2016 at 9:41 pm #

        Thank you! More will be coming soon!

        Chris

    • David P. Graf February 10, 2016 at 12:18 am #

      Chris,

      I know that in a previous post from a few months ago you promised to name some race after me (Graf) in one of your future books. However, from the description of the aliens in this book, I think I wouldn’t mind foregoing that honor. 🙂

  5. Holdt February 5, 2016 at 4:34 pm #

    I am looking forward to reading this latest book in the series. The others are great!

  6. Wayne hayward February 7, 2016 at 11:07 am #

    Looks like you get a mention In leo champions desert strike

  7. DanJB February 16, 2016 at 1:45 am #

    I enjoyed the book very much, thank you.

    There are just a couple of points of terminology I’ve found a bit distracting through the series. Shortly after I started working with the Royal Navy and I spoke of ‘crews’, a somewhat irritable RN colleague said to me “Aeroplanes have crews, cruise ships have crews – Her Majesty’s Ships have ships’ companies”. Unfortunately the officer in question seemed so put out that I’ve inwardly winced at every time someone says ‘crew’ in connection with the Navy (although crew is sometimes used albeit only informally).

    Similarly I think the RN would say ‘ratings’ rather than ‘crewmen’ – have you done that to try and make it accessible to a wider audience?

    (For clarity I’m a Civilian – I just work with with Navy, but the quotation above is originally from a Lt. (RN))

    • chrishanger February 16, 2016 at 3:19 pm #

      Thank you!

      I try to avoid excessive terminology where possible, so crewmen made more sense to me than ratings.

      Chris

  8. Phil Williams February 25, 2016 at 3:00 pm #

    Do we have a date for the Audiobook Chris ?

    • chrishanger February 28, 2016 at 6:44 pm #

      Not yet, sorry.

      Chris

      • Phil Williams March 3, 2016 at 9:51 am #

        Thanks for replying. I have consumed (And paid for) the whole Arc Royal story thus far as Audio.. It’s the only way I can fit time in for books!
        Waiting with baited breath.

        p.s. – Don’t change narrator..Would rather wait then break the continuity 🙂

  9. ryan June 2, 2016 at 2:55 pm #

    please tell me when book 8 will be out

    • chrishanger June 2, 2016 at 10:56 pm #

      Hopefully, end June. But we will see.

      Chris

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. AMAZING NEWS: 2/7/16 - Amazing Stories - February 7, 2016

    […] Vanguard, Ark Royal VII Now Available […]

Leave a Reply

