More Updates …

12 Jan

Hi, everyone

This is yet another update post, I’m afraid.

First, my timing has been appalling. Falcone Strike is due to be released (officially, this time) on the 19th. This clashes with Vanguard, which is now in its final stage of editing; 47 North would rather I didn’t release Vanguard until 1st February. I’ve decided, therefore, to put Vanguard up for pre-order as soon as the final editing is done, set for automatic publishing on the 1st. I’ll put a sample up as soon as the editing is done, too. I’m hoping that the surge in sales caused by the pre-order will do interesting things to my sales ranking <grin>.

Vanguard1

Second, my current plan is to write Sons Of Liberty (TRS 4) next, followed by They Shall Not Pass … (TEC 12). This story will see Gwen heading off to America, but a very different country from the one we know.

Third, I’m spending the next week or so fiddling with plot ideas, mainly for stand-alone books (although I do need to finalise Twilight of the Gods II). I’m playing around with a book for younger teenagers where a magic-less person is sent to a magic school, a semi-fantasy novel following a soldier who is appointed to serve as regent and guardian to a murdered emperor’s children and a couple of others. They’ll probably be written in April or June at this rate.

Fourth, I hope to write Book Nine of Schooled In Magic in March, depending on how matters go. Book Ten will be coming along shortly afterwards, as they fit together. More details as I finalise my plans.

Finally, I’m going to be attending Eastercon in Britain (Manchester; 25-28 March) and Honorcon in America. Hope to see you there!

Thanks for reading

Chris

19 Responses to “More Updates …”

  1. Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard January 12, 2016 at 9:27 pm #

    Sons Of Liberty!!!! Great News!!!!

  2. iheartdeer January 12, 2016 at 10:04 pm #

    Thanks for the updates. Sounds like a busy couple of months, but I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

  3. Andrew January 12, 2016 at 11:23 pm #

    And that is why i like my authors completely indy :þ as i will be done with falcone strike by the 20th and hungry for your next book

  4. CB January 13, 2016 at 2:39 am #

    You are a writing machine! Hope you have the success you deserve.

  5. Martin Conway January 13, 2016 at 3:36 pm #

    Well I’ve already preordered Falcone Strike, so I’ll speed run that. Still I cannot wait for Vanguard! Battleships in space!

  6. Tim C. Taylor January 14, 2016 at 9:18 pm #

    You are, indeed, a writing machine, sir. I very much like the use of contrast on the artwork for Vanguard.

  7. svraap January 18, 2016 at 8:48 pm #

    Looking for info on Vanguard. On the one hand happy it is not far away (and the audio book for which I’ll need to wait) on the other hand sad because it not ready yet.

    But that’s part of the game, hunger for more 🙂

    Keep us posted and thanks for the story so far!

  8. Christopher Taylor January 19, 2016 at 2:35 am #

    Thank you for your efforts. I have really come to love the different universes you are creating.

  9. G January 19, 2016 at 9:27 am #

    Please write books 9 and 10 of schooled in magic soon!!…Did Emily ever decipher the book Void originally tested Emily with in the beginning of book 1??? Could Emily opt for an early apprenticeship instead of Whitehall–sidestepping a new, hostile Grandmaster?

    • iheartdeer January 19, 2016 at 1:03 pm #

      I’m waiting for those too. I’m trying to be patient, but it’s hard once a story sucks you in. I’m very happy to hear though that Chris has them in the line up though to be worked on.

      • chrishanger January 19, 2016 at 7:17 pm #

        They will be

        Chris

      • iheartdeer January 19, 2016 at 7:21 pm #

        I know. 🙂 I don’t know how you do it btw being able to write soma mystifies simultaneously, all within their own universes, and keep them all straight and all awesome. It speaks highly to your abilities as a writer. I’m so glad I stumbled upon your work.

      • chrishanger January 21, 2016 at 11:30 pm #

        Bloody-mindedness

        Chris

    • chrishanger January 19, 2016 at 7:18 pm #

      She’s been cracking part of it over the last few years

      Chris

  10. Barb Caffrey January 23, 2016 at 10:42 am #

    The cover for Vanguard is beautiful, Chris. I don’t know if they still do artistic awards for SF&F novels (apart from the Hugos and such), but if they do, that cover should be nominated for one.

    • chrishanger January 23, 2016 at 9:55 pm #

      I agree

      Chris

      • Barb Caffrey January 24, 2016 at 3:49 am #

        I can’t wait to read the book. 🙂 (Forgot to say that, earlier, in my awe over that beautiful cover.)

Leave a Reply

