Merry Christmas!

25 Dec

Hi, everyone

(First, a quick reminder that you can download a free copy of The Empire’s Corps between 24-26 December.)

It’s been a strange year for Aisha and I.

Most important, of course, was the birth of our son Eric on 23rd December 2014. I find it hard to believe, looking at him now, that he was really so tiny when he was a newborn, to the point where I stared in disbelief at one of my nieces and wondered why she was so tiny. Eric learned how to crawl (like a rocket) in June 2014 and has been standing upright recently, although he has yet to manage to take his first step. He’s also eating mushy food and has recently started gobbling down adult food (once mashed up in the mixer).

Writing has been going remarkably well, despite the arrival of a baby. I completed the second Ark Royal trilogy (Warspite, A Savage War of Peace, A Small Colonial War), the Bookworm series with Full Circle and recently completed the first draft of The Barbarian Bride. I’ve also written two new The Empire’s Corps books, two new Schooled In Magic books and kick-started a new alternate history series, Twilight Of The Gods, with Storm Front. I’m currently planning to write Vanguard (Ark 7) followed by Sons Of Liberty and They Shall Not Pass (Empire’s Corps 12) … well, we’ll see.

Falcone Strike, the sequel to The Oncoming Storm, is due out in mid-January. I’m hoping to write several more books in the series, but I don’t have a signed contract or due date yet. My provisional titles are Unlucky, The Highland Line, The Hammer of God and Lightning Strike. These may, of course, change over the coming months.

Wedding Hells (Schooled In Magic 8) is out and doing well. My current plan is to write books 9 and 10 close together, because one of them is a fairly direct sequel to the other. Ideally, of course, I’d prefer to keep them as stand-alone as I could (I’m not a fan of massive books that only advance the plot a few inches), but for reasons that will become clear when you read the books that simply wasn’t possible.

In other news, I’ve signed a contract to bring the Schooled In Magic books out in audio format.

    

We attended EASTERCON in London, RAVENCON in the United States and NOVACON in Nottingham this year; the first two were larger than I’d expected (I was on a panel for the first time in my life) while NOVACON was smaller, but still pretty interesting. (As you can imagine, I bought a lot of books.) I’ve been invited to HONORCON as one of the guests of honour for 2016, so if you happen to be in the area please don’t hesitate to come along and say hello. I may be going to a couple of other conventions in the United States (we’re already booked for EASTERCON 2016 in Manchester) but I can’t guarantee anything. Please keep an eye on my blog for details.

Anyway, that’s enough blathering. <grin>.

I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a happy new year. And if you want to give me something for Christmas, please feel free to leave a review <wink>.

Chris

12 Responses to “Merry Christmas!”

  1. Thomas Monaghan December 25, 2015 at 12:58 am #

    Merry Christmas Chris!!

  2. Gary Blievernicht December 25, 2015 at 6:59 pm #

    Thanks for the “free” book today. I have done my part to help persuade your publisher for more in the Angel in the Whirlwind Series, with the pre-order of Falcone Strike. Merry Christmas to you and the family, and a best of New Year as well.

  3. Karen December 25, 2015 at 11:19 pm #

    Merry Christmas to you Aisha and Eric. Many thanks for the great reading. Complaint…you have so many books out I’ve lost track of what I’ve bought, have yet to buy and/or am waiting to be published. Compliment…repeat of last sentence …that’s hard to do!

  4. Harmony December 26, 2015 at 9:15 pm #

    Merry Christmas.

    Will Coup D’etat be published this year? Will there be a sequel to it or to Their Darkest Hour?

  5. Bruce S Edwards December 26, 2015 at 11:46 pm #

    Chris, Merry Christmas and Thank You very much, I’ve already downloaded the Empires Corp and look forward to the reading. I have to say I’ve enjoyed your Ark Royal series very much and will be following your work with pleasure. Enjoy your son, he looks like he will be a handful, smart and curious. Treasure theses years with him, they grow up so fast. Best wishes to you and your family!

  6. Jim December 27, 2015 at 2:14 pm #

    I am glad that you have had a great year. I hope that you have been spared from the flooding that has hit the UK so hard.

  7. Jacqueline Harris December 27, 2015 at 8:00 pm #

    Thank you for the book I’ll give it a shot I am a big fan of your schooled in magic series. I also love your annotations. Are you going to do more of them?

  8. paul December 29, 2015 at 4:23 am #

    I am so happy to hear that you are brining the schooled in magic series to audio format. I drive about three hours a day and have enjoyed your ark royal audio books. I wish you and yours a happy new year.

Leave a Reply

