Updates <grin>

20 Aug

Hi, everyone

This is the usual set of updates between books <grin>. Basically, I’m currently in the midst of post-book blues, made worse by the fact I ended a trilogy. I feel rather unfocused, which is annoying; I have too many book ideas in my head and notebook. But I do plan to start Wedding Hells on Monday, all else being equal.

I’m making my way through the plot for Their Darkest Hour IIThe Devil And The Deep Blue Sea. It’s complicated because I did have an idea of where I want the story to go (still do) but my original plan for ending Book II has been used elsewhere. So I really need a new way to get to the same place <grin>.

I’m also sketching out notes for an alternate history trilogy focused around a Nazi Civil War in the 1980s. I think I may have mentioned this a few times – the basic idea is that the Nazis didn’t declare war on America and World War Two stalemated in 1944. The US/UK faces a Nazi Regime that stretches from the coasts of France to the icy reaches of Siberia, but the Nazis are suffering from long-term economic decay (and a disastrous war in South Africa). They’re basically in the same mess as the USSR in 1991 (only worse) and the Nazi Regime is not going to go down quietly.

It’s rather frustrating, coming to the SF field, to see just how much has been done before. I was writing up a set of notes for an alien race and realised, after writing about three pages, that I’d effectively recreated something that had already been done (and easily recognisable).

Anyway, back to plotting for me <evil laugh>

Chris

9 Responses to “Updates <grin>”

  1. Anarchymedes August 20, 2015 at 11:14 am #

    Just to help the frustration : I think the latest Wolfenstein game also uses alt-history WW2 plot. Only there, the Nazis manage to develop a nuke just before Berlin falls, then drop in on New York and force the US to surrender. And the game’s events take place sometime in the mid-20th century. I wouldn’t worry too much about coming up with a totally new story. Take Hunger Games: what’s new about gladiatorial contests and human sacrifices? Yet it works great. Or the Chronicles of Riddick movies: almost as if Robert Howard came back from the grave to transfer his Conan into the space-faring age. And scientific believability is at the bottom of the list for both…
    Didn’t Oscar Wilde say something about the humanity having existed for so long that nothing new could happen between a man and a woman? Well, he was wrong: at his time there was no such thing as cyber sex (I believe ‘platonic correspondece’ is the term for the equivalent). But even so: anything goes, so long as it’s not boring and packs some emotional punch. 🙂

  2. Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard August 20, 2015 at 1:33 pm #

    Well, on “The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea”, the Trojan Horse has been used thousands of times and still is a good method. [Smile]

    • chrishanger August 20, 2015 at 2:29 pm #

      Yep – but I’ve used it too.

      Chris

      My Site: http://www.chrishanger.net/
      My Blog: https://chrishanger.wordpress.com/
      My Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/ChristopherGNuttall

      • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard August 20, 2015 at 2:58 pm #

        My point is that it’s something that can be reused. After all, the easiest way to get into a fortress is to be invited in. [Smile]

        In Programming, programmers talked about “not reinventing the wheel”. IE if something works, why not reuse it?

        Mind you, when you’re using a “turn-coat”, you have to explain why the bad-guys are not thinking that a “turn-coat” is possible.

  3. mirepoix4two August 20, 2015 at 8:51 pm #

    Chris, the Nazi civil war sounds like a great idea! I actually ran a table top RPG with a similar story, minus the civil war. Sounds like a winner to me.

  4. Lodrik August 23, 2015 at 7:41 pm #

    the USSR would have finished germany with american supplys AND Roosevelt was clearly pro war so the americans would have joined at some point anyways (like world war 1)
    i am german and have a bachelor in history and so lets just say: the “what if” is always funny so humor us anyways!

    • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard August 23, 2015 at 8:05 pm #

      Well Lodrik, yes Roosevelt wanted the US to get involved in the war against Germany but he was not a King.

      There were plenty of powerful interest groups in the US that were against “another European war”.

      Even after the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor, Roosevelt did not ask Congress to declare war on Germany because being a smart politician he knew Congress and the American people weren’t interested in another war against Germany.

      It took Hitler declaring war on the US to get the US involved against Germany in WW2.

      While some alternate WW2 can be “funny” because they only work if “Hitler wasn’t Hitler”, IMO Chris has written one good alternate WW2 book where the US didn’t get involved in WW2 *because* the Japanese never attacked the US.

      Thus, Roosevelt was unable to get Congress to declare war because Japan and Hitler didn’t give Congress a reason to declare war.

  5. conservativlib August 27, 2015 at 2:25 am #

    I can’t wait for this alternative WW2 history. Sounds really interesting.

Leave a Reply

