Up Now–Love’s Labour’s Won (Schooled in Magic VI!)

17 Mar

Two families, alike in dignity…and armed with powerful magic…

The Magical Families of Ashworth and Ashfall have been feuding for countless years, ever since something happened to split one family into two. Now, they have been invited to Cockatrice Faire… when no other magician would dare invite them both.

And when it becomes clear that the Ashworth Heir and the Ashfall Heir have fallen in love with one another, Emily finds herself caught in the middle between two powerful families, each one capable of destroying her once and for all…

Read a free sample, then download the complete text from the links on this page!

39 Responses to “Up Now–Love’s Labour’s Won (Schooled in Magic VI!)”

  1. Martin March 17, 2015 at 9:17 pm #

    Sorry, I can’t comment, I have to READ.
    Bye.

  2. Tommy March 18, 2015 at 9:14 am #

    Thanks for the heads up Chris, just purchased will get around to reading after work.

  3. Jack Hudler March 18, 2015 at 7:45 pm #

    I laughingly melted onto the floor when I read this:
    “But you have huge tracts of land,” Alassa said, blandly. “And so does he.”

    I didn’t see the Monty Python humor coming! 🙂

  4. Tijay March 18, 2015 at 9:41 pm #

    Man, how many are you! =)
    Anyway, thanks for the steady output since I started reading some of your series!

  5. Paul March 18, 2015 at 11:13 pm #

    Amazon review posted! 5 stars

  6. Tern March 19, 2015 at 2:45 am #

    Excellent! Despite your affection for The Displaced Detective (a book that I couldn’t stand and panned on Amazon reviews), your books are a must-buy. I love this series!

  7. Jack Hudler March 19, 2015 at 7:05 am #

    On the Christmas selection: Necromancer, the only other one that was reasonably close was Slave.

  8. MADness March 19, 2015 at 10:44 pm #

    Good read.

    Nice to see Emily finally do something to prove to the magical community that she is not only important but not to be trifled with – on terms that they understand and can no longer deny.

    I worry that you tread a fine line with Emily being TOO whiny/stupid/immature but so far you are walking on the correct side of that line.

    • MADness March 19, 2015 at 10:46 pm #

      I have similar complaints/worries about Harry Dresden and Kate Daniels at times so you are in good company. It is one of the challenges of writing these types of characters without them becoming unrealistic and completely overpowered.

  9. Andrew Crossman March 20, 2015 at 4:34 am #

    Emily’s real power is that she thinks differently but I’ve not actually seen her be powerful in a magical sense. She’s kinda like HP in that everyone says she’s powerful but it’s never really seen. She is easily beaten by just a competent magician and is not ruthless enough, even after all she’s been through. She’s too PC for my taste but on the other hand I do feel for her. She better power up cause I suspect there will be more than one assassin.

    Was this the first book without Void? Seems like it.

    • chrishanger March 20, 2015 at 5:27 pm #

      PC? How?

      More seriously, it will take Emily decades to build up the power reserves (and experience) that Void and the Grandmaster have, although she does have the potential for vast power. But it will be seen, as the series develops.

      Chris

      My Site: http://www.chrishanger.net/
      My Blog: https://chrishanger.wordpress.com/
      My Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/ChristopherGNuttall

      • Andrew Crossman March 22, 2015 at 3:59 am #

        I said PC. Sorry, that’s not really accurate. She wants to be a social reformer and those parts I skip (because it gets repetitive).

        I don’t expect her to be powerful at this point but her power goes from “lightly toasted” to “nuke everyone” with no middle ground, which I think she considers at one point. Surely she can take someone near to her own level (for lack of a better term). I would not be surprised for her to be challenged to a duel in the near future.

        I spend way too much time thinking about this but I love your creation, Chris. Thanks for writing this. Speaking of love… I hope that Emily will find an example of a loving couple (Imaqua’s parents spring to mind). She needs to know that love really exists.

      • chrishanger March 22, 2015 at 9:30 pm #

        Thanks

        Emily needs to try to change things, or she won’t be a hero any longer

        Chris

        My Site: http://www.chrishanger.net/
        My Blog: https://chrishanger.wordpress.com/
        My Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/ChristopherGNuttall

  10. Jack Hudler March 20, 2015 at 6:56 am #

    An idea for a prequel came to mind as I was thinking about this one.
    When the dragon landed on Void’s tower to take Emily to Whitehall, the dragon commented on her not being from this world, and that he hadn’t seen someone like her in a long time. That’s stuck with me, and I’ve often wondered if you where going to elaborate on it later.

    I would love to see a prequel on this, or perhaps Emily re-discovering lost history about it.

  11. Tommy March 20, 2015 at 9:43 am #

    Chris, only a third of the way through and I like the way it is going. A question does spin to mind, will we get a novelette to discover how Jade saved the lost girl?

  12. Tamara March 21, 2015 at 9:18 pm #

    I’ve finished it this morning….and I have the same problem as always…sigh…I have to wait for the next one 😉
    My guess is that the assassin appeared in this book but I’m not sure which of my 3 suspects it is.
    It’s a good book but I have a little problem with Emily. She fought and defeated several really strong opponents but she still cowers before other mages. That’s a bit odd.
    Anyway I enjoyed it and you’ve got my 5 stars too.
    Please continue the good work.

    • chrishanger March 22, 2015 at 9:34 pm #

      Thank you – please review

      Emily has a habit of winning through trickery – Shadye and Mother Holly were both madder than hatters at the time – or through pulling a surprise out of her hat (such as deducing the Mimic’s true nature.) She isn’t a match for someone like Lady Barb when she has no other tricks of her own to pull.

      She also has problems standing up to aggressive men, a legacy from her stepfather.

      Chris

      My Site: http://www.chrishanger.net/
      My Blog: https://chrishanger.wordpress.com/
      My Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/ChristopherGNuttall

      • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard March 22, 2015 at 9:42 pm #

        Of course, the problem with reusing the method use to defeat Mother Holly is that it ruins the neighborhood. Emily couldn’t use it to defeat an enemy in her own castle because she’d also destroy her castle (and her servants). [Wink]

      • chrishanger March 23, 2015 at 8:02 pm #

        Yes, that is a small problem too

        Chris

        My Site: http://www.chrishanger.net/
        My Blog: https://chrishanger.wordpress.com/
        My Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/ChristopherGNuttall

      • Tamara March 23, 2015 at 2:14 am #

        I know all that but even if it was trickery she still has the power to do it again. At least the nuke was her own power. With her basic scientific knowledge she should be able to overcome most other mages even if they are more experienced. I don’t expect her to program a firewall around her…after all that’s higher IT .
        Anyway she survived several deadly encounters if that isn’t boosting her confidence what will ever?

      • chrishanger March 23, 2015 at 8:01 pm #

        She will get over it, in time. She just has a lot to overcome.

        Chris

        My Site: http://www.chrishanger.net/
        My Blog: https://chrishanger.wordpress.com/
        My Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/ChristopherGNuttall

      • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard March 23, 2015 at 8:06 pm #

        Also, I think the assumption is that “Emily has all these ideas and it would be easy to make them work via magic”.

        Never mind the problem of her possessing a Spell Of Mass Destruction which when used would destroy the neighborhood.

        That’s not something she’d use “just because another wizard annoyed her”.

      • G May 23, 2015 at 7:26 am #

        Really enjoy the series–Will Emily ever begin to seriously build her own power/ability levels, or will she always be resorting, over and over, to trickery or scientific insight? If she is to eventually face serious enemies/necromancers doesn’t she need to evolve into a powerful sorcerer in her own right?

      • chrishanger May 23, 2015 at 7:56 pm #

        She is – the problem is that most of her enemies still outclass her.

        Although, if you look at the first duel between Emily and Nanette in SOHK, Emily wins

        Chris

        My Site: http://www.chrishanger.net/
        My Blog: https://chrishanger.wordpress.com/
        My Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/ChristopherGNuttall

  13. Tom March 22, 2015 at 3:38 am #

    Finished it. One thing in particular I liked is I felt that Imaiqah’s personality started coming through a little bit more. I’ve always felt like she’s been the weakest of the supporting cast, where I could read off her character traits – good at Wizard Chess, merchant’s daughter, relatively stable – but more useful for her connection to her father than in herself. I get that’s one of the challenges of first person, especially since she hasn’t really been front-and-center the way Alassa has. But In this book, I felt like I was starting to get a sense of who she was just from her little bits of dialogue. Beyond that, enjoyable as always 🙂

Leave a Reply

