RavenCon (April 24-26)

29 Jan

Hi, everyone

Assuming we manage to get a passport for Baby Eric – this shouldn’t be difficult, but British bureaucracy is world-renowned for high levels of stupidity, bloody-mindedness and general irritation – we should be making our way to RAVENCON (http://www.ravencon.com/) for late April. I was invited, so I may be sitting on a handful of panels. (Probably connected to Indie Publishing, but we will see.)

I’m currently hoping to get a table (probably with a couple of other authors) somewhere in the dealer’s room, where my books will be available for sale. Problem is – I have no idea just how many I should expect to sell, let alone how many I should bring. (And I don’t want to be lumbered with a large number of books after the convention, which will be impossible to get back to the UK.)

What I’d like to do is the following:

The books listed below are currently available in paperback (or should be available by the time the con rolls around). I will try to get a small number of them transported to Richmond, plus whatever number of signed copies people request in advance. (In the event of us being unable to make it after all, I will probably sort out postage somehow and mail the books.) If you want to place an order with me now, please email me directly.

This is probably rather cumbersome, but it’s the only way I can deal with it at the moment.

Books available: The Royal Sorceress, The Great Game, Necropolis, Bookworm, The Very Ugly Duckling, The Best Laid Plans (I hope), Sufficiently Advanced Technology, A Life Less Ordinary, The Mind’s Eye, First Strike, Schooled In Magic, Lessons In Etiquette, Study In Slaughter, Work Experience, The School of Hard Knocks (I hope), Barbarians at the Gates, The Shadow of Cincinnatus (I hope), Ark Royal, The Nelson Touch, The Trafalgar Gambit, Warspite, A Learning Experience.

Check my Published Books page for links and free samples.

I estimate rough costs of $14 per book, but it’s something I will need to sort out.

I’m hoping to sort out some promotional materials as well <grin>. Any ideas would be more than welcome.

Hope to see you there.

Chris

6 Responses to “RavenCon (April 24-26)”

  1. Chris K January 30, 2015 at 2:29 am #

    Not sure how practical it is with the production/shipping costs but people go to these Cons to have fun and aren’t terribly concerned with spending. So more then likely however many books you bring you will run out. Maybe just plan on this and bring extra? If production costs aren’t a problem I would bring lots of the first book of each series, and only signed editions of other books requested in advance. If nothing else you can give them away at the end so you are not left with that problem, and if they like the free first book may buy the rest. Assuming these printed ones are worth the effort profit wise, otherwise just a few for rabid fans and sheets with amazon links to the kindle version might be better long term. It would certainly be easier to transport. Cons are a good place for exposure since these are the people who read tons of books!

  2. Duncan Cairncross January 30, 2015 at 9:13 am #

    Hi
    Do you have an American “outlet”?
    If you do you could possibly arrange for your books to be available for you at the Con with the surplus (if any) going back into that channel

    • chrishanger January 30, 2015 at 6:36 pm #

      I’m looking into that, but it will be tricky.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  3. Hyrum February 2, 2015 at 11:31 pm #

    Depending on how long you’ll be staying, you might want to check with any local book stores to see if they’ll host a signing event after the convention.

    You’ll most likely have to split proceeds from the books you bring, but on the upside, they’ll probably keep any extras you don’t sell.

Leave a Reply

