Rant Warning: Windows 8

22 Oct

Fair warning. This is a rant.

What I would like to know, right here, right now, is why the person or persons who designed Windows 8 haven’t been fired.

Ok, I’m used to working with Microsoft and I’m quite conservative, to the point I would prefer not to have to change. However, there have been so many problems during my shift from a Windows 7 machine to a Windows 8 machine that I am seriously considering just abandoning Microsoft Office and Windows altogether. The problems are starting to get on my nerves.

Let’s see …

One – you open Windows 8 and it demands your Microsoft account password. It sounds efficient and maybe it is, but it makes it impossible to sign on without an internet connection. Get a local account, you say? I keep getting error messages when I try.

Two – the GUI is appallingly bad. I don’t want a dozen apps I will never use – I want my desktop, Microsoft Office, IE and not much else. Why do I keep getting an intro screen that makes me want to put a fist through the computer?

Three – to add to this, it was difficult to work out how to shut open applications down. Anything that happened to be opened through the first screen lacked a ‘X’ button to shut them down. I ended up having to use task manager until I stumbled (literally) on the secret of closing them down. I’m sure it looks cool and flashy, but I want something simple!

Four – I have a long list of spelling corrections from my old computer, which I wanted to transfer to the new machine. It should have been easy, as they were running the same version of MS Office. Need I say it wasn’t? It took hours of trying before I gave up and found an online macro that did the job for me.

Five – I used to love the old Outlook Express from 2000, which is when I first opened a hotmail account. It was simple – simple is best – worked fine offline and did everything I wanted to do. The new Windows Live Mail, however, is ghastly. I don’t want my emails stacked up by subject, not least because it is grouping together messages from several different people who aren’t actually linked in my mind.

Six – I’m not actually much of a gamer, because I don’t have time. However, most of my early games are useless now, because they can’t be moved to later versions of Windows …

In short, Microsoft, go back to Windows 98. It actually worked.

<rant ends>

31 Responses to “Rant Warning: Windows 8”

  1. Walt Dunn October 22, 2014 at 8:39 pm #

    Chris, you can get information on windows 8 (8.1) on http://www.techrepublic.com. Personally, if your windows 7 still works stick with that until they get windows 10 working and vetted!

  2. Ira Tabankin October 22, 2014 at 8:44 pm #

    Which is why I refuse to buy a new laptop that comes with windows 8. I was told there’s a way to downgrade windows 8 to 7. If possible I’d suggest you try to downgrade

  3. lamparty October 22, 2014 at 9:40 pm #

    If you were not an Author, I’d tell you to do what I did back in 2007 and ditch Windows for Linux! I know that is not a realistic thing for you to try, since too much depends on you working with those that are locked into certain Windows Applications! So all I can say is don’t give up your Win7, till they have had time to sort out Win10! Hopefully that will be better!

    • chrishanger October 23, 2014 at 9:34 pm #

      Bit late now. . While I’m ranting, I’d like to know why they are no longer making the large laptops. And what happened to the crispy bacon we had before the war? Chris Date: Wed, 22 Oct 2014 20:40:33 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

      • Andrew Claymore October 25, 2014 at 3:11 pm #

        Canada got your crispy bacon. I even put it in my coffee 😉
        I figured Win 8 looked like they simply ported their tablet OS over to PCs so I’m waiting for them to come to their senses before I buy a new laptop. I got burned with Vista and I’m not letting them get me a second time.

    • thelyniezian October 23, 2014 at 10:29 pm #

      There do seem to be some distros (possibly including the likes of Ubuntu and Mint, the most oft-cited) that are usable by most everyday users, and I am sure LibreOffice Writer holds its own next to MS Word. Though given the issue of porting the spelling corrections over, one wonders whether this would be of any advantage to Chris…

  4. Robb Bennell October 22, 2014 at 10:10 pm #

    I know how you feel, had the same problem a while ago treated myself to a nice shiny laptop which came preloaded with Win 8, ran like a three legged horse, ‘upgraded’ to Win 7, ran a lot better, but found some hardware drivers were just not available, in the end I reloaded it back to Win 8 & sold it, bought a Macbook, have never looked back since going to the dark side!!! 😉

  5. patdailey October 22, 2014 at 10:20 pm #

    8.1 is a bit better. It has a configuration to bypass the password and log in directly to the desktop. It also brings back the window top bar with the minimize and exit icons.

    I’m beta testing windows 10. This is what Win 8 should have been. The main UI is the desktop and the tiles are optional as a pull out like the old widgets and the Start button is back.

    • chrishanger October 23, 2014 at 9:33 pm #

      Tell them they need a simple interface . And keep telling them that until they get the message. Chris Date: Wed, 22 Oct 2014 21:20:15 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

    • thelyniezian October 23, 2014 at 10:48 pm #

      Is it worthwhile attempting to beta test, assuming a moderate level of expertise or slightly above?

  6. Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard October 22, 2014 at 11:32 pm #

    I know the feeling Chris. My old Windows XP computer was about to die on me so I got a new computer a few months ago and definitely had “fun” with Windows 8. However, as has been said, upgrade to Windows 8.1. It’s still not as good as Windows XP or Windows 7 but it is better than Windows 8.

    By the way, I have been able to log into Windows 8.1 when the internet is down. It may just be with Windows 8 that you need to be on-line.

  7. Ian October 23, 2014 at 5:33 am #

    I made the mistake of choosing windows 8 over 7, but I found an program called “start menu 8” which brings back start menu and opens on the desktop. http://download.cnet.com/Start-Menu-8/3000-2072_4-75852660.html

  8. k findlay October 23, 2014 at 10:25 am #

    I cannot understand Microsoft what is it with every 2nd operating system windows 2000 was pants xp was great, Vista was a load of ***** so along came Windows 7 good easy to use but windows 8. The company must have someone realise that each time they make a clunky operating system they lose out to the likes of Linux etc.

    • Andrew Claymore October 25, 2014 at 3:57 pm #

      Maybe they do the ‘Call of Duty’ thing where two completely separate studios take turns…

  9. Richie October 23, 2014 at 11:34 am #

    Microsoft operating systems are like Star Trek films. They alternate between quite good and embarrassingly appalling.

  10. Bob Costello October 23, 2014 at 12:26 pm #

    Richie has it right. Whenever Microsoft tries to achieve a “paradigm shift” in their UI, the first iteration almost invariably blows (Millennium/Vista/Win8, etc.). It is often better to wait until the get the kinks works out.

    OTOH, from what I can determine, other than the UI part, Win8 is a noticeably better OS behind the scenes (memory management, crash resistance, etc.) than previous versions. But that is from a geek (rather than a user) perspective, so YMMV. Fortunately there is a wealth of knowledge out on the interwebz, so most all problems have a solution, even if somewhat obscure.

  11. Benjamin W Hartley October 23, 2014 at 7:01 pm #

    Aw, hell, Chris; I’d be just as happy with DOS 6.22. But then I’m a Luddite.

    • chrishanger October 23, 2014 at 9:30 pm #

      LOL! I feel the same way at times. Chris Date: Thu, 23 Oct 2014 18:01:21 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

    • thelyniezian October 23, 2014 at 10:39 pm #

      I actually tried that but fell at the hurdle of “no decent free word processors” (there’s PEdit but that’s really a glorified text editor)- buying a second-hand copy of WordPerfect is difficult and highly costly and the abandonware route ain’t exactly legal. (You can get some for the GEM GUI.) The other hurdle being getting the internet to work and actually trusting DOS to using it with basically no security whatsoever.

      But there are fun retro games by the shedload.

  12. thelyniezian October 23, 2014 at 10:35 pm #

    Is it not possible to “downgrade” back to Win7? I don’t know if Linux would really suit your needs or if you’d be comfortable making the switch, or what your tech experience is like, but there are some reasonably decent user-friendly distros out there and GUIs that are not too dissimilar to the old Windows format compared to Win8. Probably not too good for your old games and I am not sure if you will find LibreOffice Writer as good as Word.

  13. johntae71 October 23, 2014 at 11:55 pm #

    As someone who works in Redmond I can say many on the Ship have not and will not ever use 8. Ideally you want to go straight to 10.

    Chris, you can afford a Mac Air with Office for Mac. Do it. Do it now!

  14. Lindsay October 24, 2014 at 6:27 am #

    I know how you feel Chris. My wife bought a new laptop with Windows 8 and I can tell how her work is progressing by assuming it is the inverse of the amount of swearing. It sounds amusing but it isn’t funny if one often works from home as she does.

  15. greywolf87 October 26, 2014 at 8:11 am #

    Switch to a Ubutnu LTS distro, it’s a smooth ride, Libre Office is very similar to the old MS Office Suite, you are not going to regret it.

  16. Jack Hudler October 26, 2014 at 6:55 pm #

    If I could sit with you for 10 minutes you’d be embarrassed at this rant.
    Having said; I believe MS didn’t look before they leaped, they should have known that tablets weren’t going be the next revolution. Even thought I write this from my tablet.

  17. Alves November 1, 2014 at 3:38 pm #

    I log offline in my Windows 8.1 just fine, and don`t remember that being an issue when I had just Windows 8.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chris Nuttall rants about Windows 8 | Notes - October 24, 2014

    […] And they do deserve it. […]

Leave a Reply

