Quick Set Of Updates

1 Oct

It’s been a weird couple of weeks.

Good news first – we’ve found a place to live in Edinburgh. It’s maybe not in the best of locations, but it is somewhere decent and we have plenty of room for later expansion (it turns out that my collection of Baen paperbacks consumes around 30 shelves.) I’m not sure how long we’re going to be living there, but we will see.

Bad news – I’ve been having bouts of depression. I don’t know why, which is bothering me. Send some prayers my way if you can.

Second piece of good news – I’m currently 25 chapters into Hard Lessons (A Learning Experience II). I hope to have it drafted out in 9 or so days, then start the editing process (at which point I have to start editing at least one other book, for Elsewhen.)

My current plan is to write Bookworm III next, then go on to Warspite. After that, I need some input. I can write the next Schooled In Magic book, the final Democracy book or Their Darkest Hour II. Which one would you like?

I’ve also been messing around with plots for Book IV of The Royal Sorceress. How does this sound?

After the lead sorcerers in America are killed, with Franco-Spanish forces surging across the border, Gwen is called upon to train the remaining American magicians in magic before the war can be lost. But when she encounters a mystery magician with a connection to her mentor, the Royal Sorceress may finally have met her match …

There are several other issues worth mentioning.

I’ve had a number of requests for EPUB versions of my books. As The Empire’s Corps is not exclusive to Amazon (because of the Stars and Empire box set) I’ve put the books online here, for download as EPUBs. If you liked the series, please feel free to leave reviews there <grin>.

Work Experience (SIM IV) has had its first full edit. I’m hoping to see it online within a month or two, but we don’t have dates yet. The cover design is currently being finalised.

As always, reviews and comments are welcome.

Chris

47 Responses to “Quick Set Of Updates”

  1. Charlie October 1, 2014 at 10:07 pm #

    Hey man i hope everything works out with the depression, just focus on the good things in life and once youve settled into a routine everything should fall back into place. I am literally begging you to finish the Democracy series, I can’t get enough of the space warfare that you have created. If you need someone to read drafts let me know. Congrats on the new place!

  2. David Horgan October 1, 2014 at 10:18 pm #

    Hi Christopher, love your work. Given a free choice I would vote for Their Darkest Hour 2 please. I am reading my way through your books at the moment and have found them consistently enjoyable so far. Science fiction, theoretical physics and quantum gravity are my main interests and if you have any hard science fiction ideas I would love to see them in books. Hope you enjoy Edinburgh, Chris Stross has set some of his books there – sound a fun place.

  3. Dennis The Menace October 1, 2014 at 10:22 pm #

    I vote for SIM V next. I’ve become rather hooked on those…the whole ‘A Connecticut’ theme works well with it.

    Only one thing: If the main character’s background education really is from public schooling, then she wouldn’t know what she knows about ancient history as you depict her to know. 🙂 So, I found it difficult for me to suspend my disbelief regarding that cynical (but very true) point. It’s too late to change that now going forward with the series so just consider this to be feedback for new books you write.

    Their Darkest Hour seems to be another incarnation of your various Earth Invasion books — I’ve even been waiting for the predictable war rapes to start. I like these books but I can wait for the second one vs waiting for SIM V, which is a lot more original to me.

  4. Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard October 1, 2014 at 10:51 pm #

    “the Royal Sorceress may finally have met her match”.

    Good line. Like to see it happen. [Smile]

    On the other hand, I’d like to see the ending of the Democracy series. [Smile]

  5. psiclopz October 1, 2014 at 11:27 pm #

    Take care of yourself. And more Schooled In Magic!

    • Michael October 1, 2014 at 11:38 pm #

      Well as I have been scarfing up every one of your books I can get my hands on I just want the next volume whatever it is. having said that I vote for Democracy :o}

  6. Jay Bonner October 2, 2014 at 12:01 am #

    Chris, If you are clinically depressed then get professional help. True depression is chemical and you can’t just shake it off. If it is lethargy and lack of energy that you can push through… you have A LOT on your plate… take a vacation. We will wait!

  7. Tim October 2, 2014 at 1:56 am #

    Sorry to hear about the bouts of depression, Chris. I help veterans deal with that all the time — feel free to email me if you want to “talk”. We can always arrange something.

  8. Clarke October 2, 2014 at 3:43 am #

    If you are feeling depressed and can’t shake it – get help. With regards as to what to write next I’d like SIM V please.

  9. Paul October 2, 2014 at 5:02 am #

    I want you and your family to know that you have my prayers. Focus on what you are thankful for it will help you avoid focusing on the negative. I know that the next novel you decide to write will be wonderful, no matter the subject.

  10. Tarjei Jensen October 2, 2014 at 5:03 am #

    As long as the depression is nothing serious, the following is known to help. No guarantees however.

    Physical activity : I know of a couple who dances every day to combat depression. I presume that vigorous walking will work the same way.

    Mental discipline : Discovering when you are on the slippery slope and refusing to think those dark thoughts. Works fine for me.

    You might want to pick up a hobby that allows you do do something else. Preferably involving physical activity. e.g. hiking, biking, photography, join a gym (groups are better than alone).

  11. johntae71 October 2, 2014 at 5:45 am #

    You’ve had a significant change of climate and culture, even it is one you’re very familiar with. You’ve had to move your family halfway around the world. You’ve had a lousy time finding housing, what you did find you’re not entirely happy with, yet you’re putting in all the work to make the new home livable. You just dodged Scottish Independence. You have a ton of books to work your way through and your internet has been spotty.

    Exhaustion can lead to dark thoughts, especially under those conditions. Screw the writing and responding. Finish up the house set up and have a couple drinks of the local stuff, get plenty of sleep and adjust to the time change.

  12. ander75it October 2, 2014 at 8:15 am #

    I am a fan of the Schooled in Magic series, so I’d like you working on that, but whatever you feel best is fine for me. I read far too many of your series 😀
    I am not prone on depression, and when I am feeling down mental discipline works for me; so the feeling usually doesn’t last enough to be significant. It’s much easier for me to feel anxious and restless, and my usual cure is a bout of FPS games to focus on something trivial but requiring concentration. I also recommend physical activity, in that if you are very tired you think less 🙂 Also, you could try to focus on a positive project that improves your life or somebody else’s, like building a house for a pet, a new shelf for you, etc.
    Don’t be ashamed to seek help if the feeling lasts. Take care.

  13. samtailor October 2, 2014 at 10:00 am #

    I hope you’re feeling better. Maybe it can help to make new memories in your new home.

    If you want votes then I’ll vote for Schooled in Magic series. It is so hard for me to find a magic series were the characters actually use magic; so I have read these books several times now and look forward to pre-ordering the next one.

    Good luck and god bless

  14. Charlie Thurman October 2, 2014 at 2:47 pm #

    First, see a doctor and get to the reason for your depression. Then take some time and do someting you have wanted to do. Relax, as much as I enjoy your writing, it is not as important as your health.

  15. Daniel Silver October 2, 2014 at 2:56 pm #

    Hope you feel better. I would like to see another Schooled in Magic

  16. Dan Gallagher October 2, 2014 at 5:27 pm #

    Chris ~ chin up mate ~ having been through bouts of depression several times in my life I readily offered up prayers in your behalf. Be well. Lately I fight the onset of depression which I suspect comes from watching and reading too much news in the world and the US. Much of what you put into your stories so reflects what is current that it disturbs me but at the same time gives me hope that you and others seem to be seeing the same things as I do. As always my best to you ~~ from an old veteran.

  17. Richard Parks October 2, 2014 at 6:06 pm #

    Hey Chris, sorry to here about your depression, all the stress from going from one side of the world to other,having to deal with the YOYO’ s about visas an such is brought to drive a person into depression and frustration. I understand completely I have PTSD. I know you just moved but I’m sure you know folks that you can talk to, open up you might find what is the matter. If you can’t shake it yourself in 3-4 weeks go see a doctor. Just be careful of some of the meds they can be worse then the illness in the first place.

    So much for personal business, now time for the go parts. I know what I would like to read next but I know it’s not possible since you just brought out another in that series “The Emipres Corp” I want to see how the differ characters come together and gel or not. Barring that the Democracy III or Their Darkest Hour II

  18. Lindsay October 3, 2014 at 3:00 am #

    HI Chris, sorry to hear you are having a bit of a bad time. You seem to have so much on the go at the one time you may be putting undue pressure on yourself. Your fans will understand if you feel you need a break for a while, and maybe get some help.

    There is so much I would like to see it’s hard to make a call. If I must I’d go for the next “Their Darkest Hour”.

  19. Gregory October 3, 2014 at 11:09 pm #

    I’d finish off the Democracy Trilogy and knock it on the head.

    Prayers are with you.

  20. Les Barrie October 4, 2014 at 11:36 am #

    Darkest Hour II please,by far my favourite series,so much potential to draw all the threads together with the marines/traders/pirates/despots ,unfortunately one book won’t even start to resolve the great world you have created.

  21. Michael October 6, 2014 at 1:27 am #

    Hi Chris,
    Very sorry to hear about your depression, I know that can be difficult. I’ve read the previous comments and it seems to me that the most likely cause is dealing with Scottish weather after having lived in Malaysia. No, I’m not being flippant, sometimes problems can be simple. Get a natural light lamp and vitamin D. I wish you well in whatever you do to deal with it, and I think your loyal readers in general, and me in particular will keep you in our thoughts and prayers.
    I find that whichever of your books I’ve finished last, is my current favorite (as of this moment Bookworm II), So write whatever you wish and I’ll read it!

    • chrishanger October 7, 2014 at 9:30 pm #

      That’s probably partly why – the weather was wet yesterday, worse the day before … I think it was sunny today, but I didn’t really check. Chris Date: Mon, 6 Oct 2014 00:27:49 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

  22. chris October 6, 2014 at 2:00 pm #

    Love your books. Schooled in magic..or Empire’s Corps. Dying to know how both of these evolve!

    A few prayers for the dep….

    And was wondering how long does it take you to write a book? You seem like a prolific writer!

  23. kiantremayne October 6, 2014 at 6:51 pm #

    Final Democracy book please. There’s a special circle of Hell reserved for authors who don’t finish series 🙂

  24. Tom Baker October 9, 2014 at 4:59 am #

    Chris:

    You are a fine author and a fun author. Our prayers are with you. Doctors can help.

    Love your series, especially Empire Corps and now the Darkest Hour one. Thank you for the reasonably priced enjoyment.

    Best Regards,
    Tom

  25. Mike Kidd October 11, 2014 at 2:54 am #

    Please feel better. We are praying for you. I really enjoy Schooled in Magic.

  26. Eduardo Moura October 11, 2014 at 6:54 pm #

    Chris, I did not know you live in Scotland. Although I am Brazilian I am married to a Scot and divide my time between Scotland and Brazil. We have a place in Inverkip and a permanent residence in Salvador, Brazil. I just finished reading A Learning Experience in Kindle, after reading the 3 Ark Royal books. Quite enjoyed them all so keep at it. My contribution is finding two typos which need correction in Learning Experience. Pages 23, location 505 and 345 location 6660 have “Food Professor” instead of “Food Processor”, the kind of mistake spell checkers do not find. And cheer up mate, the Galaxy is huge and we are certainly not alone there.

    • chrishanger October 12, 2014 at 9:09 pm #

      Living in Scotland now. (Grin). Married to a Malay so I move around a bit.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  27. telastx October 14, 2014 at 4:08 pm #

    You absolutely have our thoughts and prayers. Best of luck in taming those demons, but as others have pointed out, you’ve had a lot on your plate.

    When I’m down, physical activity helps, as does doing something for someone else, especially someone who needs it. I hope you find whatever works for you.

    I have really enjoyed your growth as a writer, and look forward to seeing it continue.

  28. Charlie Thurman October 17, 2014 at 9:31 pm #

    I seem to remember that Barbarians at the Gate 2 was almost ready several weeks ago. Did I miss something?

  29. vera bhamroyal October 21, 2014 at 3:15 pm #

    Dear Chris, first of all: many thanks for writing so many entertaning series! I really enjoyed the Bookworm series and Schooled in Magic. So I am looking forward how the stories will develop. Concerning your depressions, I wish you all the best and strenght for hard times. And maybe living in Scotland isn`t that bad since the wonderful landscapes can be quite inspiring (altough of the weather). So please keep up what you are doing, because it is great.Stay well and have the best of times with family and friends!
    Thanks a lot,

    Yours Vera

    • chrishanger October 21, 2014 at 8:14 pm #

      Thank you! SIM IV should be out soon Chris Date: Tue, 21 Oct 2014 14:15:18 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

      • vera bhamroyal October 27, 2014 at 12:10 pm #

        Thanks a lot I just got it and can`t wait to start reading!

  30. jjreuter October 22, 2014 at 11:11 am #

    Chris, new reader and very impressed. Finished Their Darkest Hour and am now into A Learning Experience. The depression is a real problem if it continues. Professional help is sometimes required. If it is environmental, vigorous exercise and humor is often helpful. I am very familiar with depression myself. I am currently a yank in Afghan as an advisor to the RAF. That in itself can be depressing at times but also very rewarding. It is also very humorous. Keep writing and look forward to more.

Leave a Reply

