General Round-Up

17 Apr

Hi, everyone

(Yes, another general round-up email. I’m so ashamed.)

Anyway, I’m pleased to report that I’ve finished the first draft of Necropolis, The Royal Sorceress Book III. I’m actually quite pleased with it, although the characters insisted in going in different directions to the plot <grin>. As always, there will be an endless series of edits, revisions and suchlike before the book is finally ready for publication.

This does, of course, raise problems about where to take the universe next. I’d like to show the First Magical War in great detail, but the format of the previous three books mandates against it. I may end up writing something along the lines of How Few Remain or Red Storm Rising, with Gwen as a bit character rather than the main character. But that’s at least six months off, so I have plenty of time to consider it.

The alternative would be to write out an overview of the war, then set the next book either during the war (Gwen’s War as a title?) or afterwards. Let me know what you think.

I’ve more or less decided to take the next few days – Friday-Tuesday – off, then do a large bunch of editing before Author Con. Then …

As I noted in my previous blog post, the next project will be a revision of The Oncoming Storm. The previous versions can be found online and comments would, as always, be immensely welcome.

After that, I think I have to tackle The School of Hard Knocks (SIM V).

June is actually going to be a problematic month for me for several reasons. We have to go back to Malaysia for a few months – I’m hoping to keep this as short a visit as possible, but there’s no guarantee of anything these days. I may manage to get a start in on TSOHK before I have to head back to Edinburgh, then Malaysia, but we will have a great deal to do in very little time so maybe not. We shall see.

After that, I’ll write Book III of Ark Royal. I’ve actually got more ideas (again) than I can use in the story, but I think Book III will wrap up Ark’s storyline, with the other reserved for later books. Then I think I’ll do TEC9 or ALE2.

Speaking of A Learning Experience, I received an offer to have the formatting for a CreateSpace edition done for free, so I accepted. You can purchase a paper copy of A Learning Experience through Amazon here. Please let me know if this is a good approach, as I will probably use it for other books if it seems profitable.

As always, thank you for your time and keep reading.

And new kindle book here <grin>

Chris

23 Responses to “General Round-Up”

  1. Gene Evans April 17, 2014 at 11:16 am #

    And when is SIM 2 coming out for Kindle? It’s good to know that you’re up to book five but I want to know what happens next.

    • chrishanger April 17, 2014 at 6:02 pm #

      August, hopefully. It’s professionally published, so they set the dates. Chris Date: Thu, 17 Apr 2014 10:16:29 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

      • Gene Evans April 18, 2014 at 7:09 am #

        Why not retain the e-publishing rights and just let them do the hard copies. That way they don’t slow you down.

        Gene

      • chrishanger April 18, 2014 at 9:33 am #

        I suspect that most publishers won’t want the hardcopy rights alone. Chris Date: Fri, 18 Apr 2014 06:09:15 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

      • Roger July 12, 2014 at 12:48 am #

        Ark Royal series was the best. Barbarians closing comments were #1 If you are crossing the country and your plane is forced to land in Wichita, KS, please call.
        Roger

      • chrishanger July 21, 2014 at 5:26 pm #

        Thank you! Keep an eye on my facebook for travel plans. Chris Date: Fri, 11 Jul 2014 23:48:12 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

  2. Tanya Reimer April 17, 2014 at 8:02 pm #

    Sounds crazy busy! Hope your trip is to relax!!!

  3. Korwin April 18, 2014 at 9:14 am #

    [quote]This does, of course, raise problems about where to take the universe next. I’d like to show the First Magical War in great detail, but the format of the previous three books mandates against it. [snip]
    The alternative would be to write out an overview of the war, then set the next book either during the war (Gwen’s War as a title?) or afterwards. Let me know what you think.[/quote]

    The alternative . . . then set the next book either during the war . . .

    If you set the book during the war, why would’nt/could’nt you go in detail there?

    LG

    • chrishanger April 18, 2014 at 9:32 am #

      Basically, the book wouldn’t be able to give an overview of the war if it was focused on just one character. Chris Date: Fri, 18 Apr 2014 08:14:51 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

      • Korwin April 22, 2014 at 9:34 am #

        Would read/buy both, Gwen’s War and an spin off

      • chrishanger April 22, 2014 at 10:29 pm #

        Cool! Chris Date: Tue, 22 Apr 2014 08:34:39 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

      • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard April 22, 2014 at 10:35 pm #

        I keep hoping that you’ll have Gwen met an American (with some rebel tendencies) who is another Master and they fall in love. [Evil Grin]

      • chrishanger April 23, 2014 at 5:35 pm #

        That would be fun . Though British North America, by this point, is quite different to OTL. Chris Date: Tue, 22 Apr 2014 21:35:24 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

      • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard April 23, 2014 at 5:36 pm #

        Of course it is but I’d also like to see “what you did with it”. [Grin]

      • chrishanger April 23, 2014 at 10:24 pm #

        I’d have to give it a great deal of thought. For example, do I want to have her deal with a loyalist or a rebel? Chris Date: Wed, 23 Apr 2014 16:36:32 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

      • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard April 23, 2014 at 11:42 pm #

        A semi-rebel Master. IE somebody that the Council won’t want to take her place. [Evil Grin]

        A loyalist Master, they might have to “hold their collective noses” but he would be more acceptable than an “uppity female”. [Wink]

      • chrishanger April 24, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

        Or someone who doesn’t want to leave America. I’ll have to give it some thought. Chris Date: Wed, 23 Apr 2014 22:42:16 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

  4. David April 20, 2014 at 4:02 pm #

    So ArkIII will be out when possibly? Just finished ArkII and can’t wait. Great story.

    • chrishanger April 20, 2014 at 7:53 pm #

      Hopefully, July, we will see.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      • Tim668 May 1, 2014 at 9:24 pm #

        Ditto here, just finished it an hour ago and need more please!!

  5. Yuri April 22, 2014 at 6:27 pm #

    TEC9 please, if I have a vote… I love that series, personally think it is your best and there seems so much room to expand… 🙂

Leave a Reply

