A Very Strange Week

4 Apr

It’s been a very weird week, all things considered, and I haven’t really been feeling too good (yesterday I didn’t have the energy to write, which was a major disaster by anyone’s reckoning (or at least mine.)) My current plan is to finish the first draft of The Royal Sorceress III: Necropolis before Easter, as we’re planning to take a few days off to visit my family, have a break and go to Author Con.

The problem with that is that we will probably have to go to the clinic at least twice more over the next couple of weeks, which is going to be a headache. If you have time for it, please pray that everything goes well for us.

After that, I hope to spend May writing the revised version of The Oncoming Storm. I have big ambitions for that book; the success of Ark Royal has interested some people in my work, which I may be able to use to get into mainstream publishing (and even if I can’t, it should kick off a new series.) After that, I think I need to write The School of Hard Knocks, Schooled in Magic V. That then leaves me writing Ark III or TEC9. I know this is slower than I meant, but … at least it’s still fairly quick, isn’t it? I should probably be able to put out an older book on Kindle at that point, depending.

My current concept for Ark Royal is to finish the current plotline with Book III, which I honestly have not been able to determine a title for. Ideally, it should be something relating to the Royal Navy’s history, but I can’t think of one. Sovereign of Space? I think I’ll do The Hardest Day afterwards, which will cover the Battle of Earth. And then … well, there’s plenty of potential settings for post-war stories. Maybe a story following a small frigate rather than a giant carrier.

Actually, I’ve had an idea about a starship from the future jumping back in time to the Ark Royal universe, as a spin-off of sorts. But it will take some careful planning <grin>.

As always, thoughts and comments are welcome.

I’m actually looking for names for characters for TOS. If you want to be featured, please let me know.

Chris

41 Responses to “A Very Strange Week”

  1. tom monaghan April 4, 2014 at 7:55 pm #

    Get well. Of course your latest novel is very dark and that sometimes affects the author.

  2. Robb Bennell April 4, 2014 at 7:56 pm #

    Hi Chris, hope you feel better soon, and back to writing, am in same boat health wise at mo, but what the heck, keep on going, just a thought to that may help you sort a title, Ark Royal flew Swordfish torpedo planes that helped in the Bismarck sinking, also Skua’s, don’t know what the synopsis is for the story, but may be of help, though I expect you’ve already been down this avenue. 😜

    • Mark April 5, 2014 at 8:24 pm #

      I know David Drake bases a lot of his stories on historic events, how about a space battle based on Trafalgar!

  3. Dave Knight April 4, 2014 at 8:18 pm #

    How about ‘ England expects’

  4. The Rhino April 4, 2014 at 8:54 pm #

    I’m thinking a solid title wod be The Rhino Abides

  5. Mark April 4, 2014 at 11:32 pm #

    Time Travel = BAD! But don’t feel bad about how long it takes you to tackle a series, “professional” writers take a lot longer then you do, and frankly, I think you’re doing a better job them most of them!

    • chrishanger April 5, 2014 at 3:57 pm #

      As a separate storyline or as part of the original series? Chris Date: Fri, 4 Apr 2014 22:32:36 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

      • Warren Perkins April 7, 2014 at 10:39 pm #

        Hope you are feeling better. Time travel as part of the original series sounds good.

      • Mark April 7, 2014 at 11:01 pm #

        I suppose I could be made to accept it as part of a separate story line. I don’t enjoy them generally, to much confusion with creating paradoxes and what not. I picked up a sci fi series in the middle, and went back to the first book, which dealt heavily with time travel. If that had been the first book I read…I wouldn’t have read the rest of the series. Also, this is personal preference and you should NEVER listen to one critic, you’ve got so many other fans whom I’m sure would love to see a time travel story.

      • chrishanger April 8, 2014 at 6:54 pm #

        My plan was basically a separate storyline, not part of the regular canon. (Which would be cheating right about now as the story isn’t a time-travel story.) Chris Date: Mon, 7 Apr 2014 22:01:22 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

  6. t April 5, 2014 at 12:45 am #

    Hey, there’s gotta be a Sergeant Edmunds….after all part of my heritage is Brit!! 🙂

  7. Chris Kuntz April 5, 2014 at 1:11 am #

    How about “Battle of Rorke’s Drift”, or something like that. Also if you are looking for names to show up in your book(s), I volunteer my name.

  8. David April 5, 2014 at 8:59 pm #

    I have been in and out of the hospital for about 3 weeks now for heart issues which they still can’t seem to pinpoint. Ark Royal series has kept my spirits up during this time. I love this series and would like a lot of spin offs about where the human expansion goes 100-200 years in the future as well as a lot of talk about the reverse engineered alien technology helping that process. Hope all is well with you and your health.

    • chrishanger April 6, 2014 at 4:57 pm #

      Thank you! I think I’m going to close Ark Royal’s series with Book III, then start another series later on in the same universe. Chris Date: Sat, 5 Apr 2014 19:59:33 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

  9. johntae71 April 6, 2014 at 1:54 am #

    Get better and take care of your health first. As long as you stay healthy you have plenty of decades to write and worry about what to do next.

  10. Mike Strong April 6, 2014 at 4:25 am #

    Hi Chris,
    Hope you’re feeling better. How about “Heart of Oak” as a title?

    Mike

  11. george tarleton April 6, 2014 at 4:46 am #

    chris- praying that all goes well for you. really enjoy your books as having spent 5 years in usmc and 19 in usn. 1952 was my favorite because it could have easily happened. it was a close run thing.
    george tarleton

  12. Mark Bullick April 7, 2014 at 3:14 am #

    Glad you have decided to go with Henry, Ted, and James for Ark Royal III Would like you to double back later with the battle of Earth or Britannia? or other side stories. On the name front I haven’t seen one Bullock yet on any your ships this is England right?

    • Mark Bullick April 7, 2014 at 3:30 am #

      Just got done catching up on the comments from the last three months of Blog. Am joining the queue right now for Royal sorceress III will be camping out until you put it up. I am happy that you are so good with such a large variety of genres as I read them all.

    • chrishanger April 7, 2014 at 8:09 pm #

      Good point. I’ll put one in somewhere. I’ll probably double back after AR3. Chris Date: Mon, 7 Apr 2014 02:14:35 +0000 To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com

  13. Chris Manno April 7, 2014 at 10:17 pm #

    Ark Royal is a good read, strong, smart characters with flaws and problems like real people. Currently rationing The Nelson Touch, realizing that book 3 is a ways off. I was a USAF pilot for 7 years, have been an airline pilot for 28; I feel at home with your blending of both the military and flying aspects, and really like the British Navy overlay. Fine work–please, keep it up! Just shared Ark Royal via Kindle with another pilot bud–he’s just as enthusiastic about it as I was.

  14. Petar Waldner April 8, 2014 at 5:00 am #

    I put my name in the hat, it is a strong European name if I say so myself 🙂
    Hoping for a new Empire series book soon. Cheers!

  15. Damian Stawiński April 8, 2014 at 1:22 pm #

    Get well.

  16. Neil Peck April 8, 2014 at 5:09 pm #

    Just finished ‘The Nelson Touch’, fantastic as was the first book now waiting for no3 :).

    Looking forward to RS3, about to read SinM2.

    Hope you get sorted out soon health wise and please keep writing really good authors are hard to find (grin!)

  17. Douglas Nuijten April 8, 2014 at 7:33 pm #

    I really enjoyed reading “The Nelson Touch” and can not wait for the 3rd book! Just want to tell you to keep up the great work and I will be watching Amazon for it. I also enjoy reading your other books to. Thank you for all the entertainment.

  18. J April 13, 2014 at 9:33 pm #

    Trafalgar Day sounds like a grand title.

    Btw I see a couple of characters named after Farley in the Ark Royal books, it’s not often I see my surname used for characters. What made you use it? I’m curious.

Leave a Reply

