Rewriting The Empire’s Corps (Book One)

17 Jan

Hi, everyone.

For the past few months, I’ve been having my original version of The Empire’s Corps conceptually and copy-edited by a professional editor. This has been a long slow process for various reasons, but it’s finally started to roll properly and it is becoming increasingly apparent that I will need to rewrite the entire book, rather than intensely editing the version I have.

There are two reasons for this. First, there are simply too many edits and changes that need to be made. Placing them all into the document I already have would be extremely difficult and would probably result in major problems down the line. Second … I like to think I’ve improved a little since then. The Empire’s Corps was written in 2010; No Worse Enemy, Book Two in the series, was written in 2012, after Book One took off on Kindle.

So … once the copy-edit is completed, which will allow me to see the problems with the original manuscript, I will start rewriting the book.

What I’d like from my readers, if you have time, is to let me know what areas you think need to be improved or expanded upon in the rewrite. Anything that needs modified in light of later books, anything that should be toned down … all advice and suggestions welcome.

Thank you

Chris

13 Responses to “Rewriting The Empire’s Corps (Book One)”

  1. ssm January 18, 2014 at 1:10 am #

    I’m confused, how will this effect cannon?

    • chrishanger January 18, 2014 at 1:12 am #

      It won’t. Basically, canon will remain unchanged, the text will be made more elegant.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  2. ssm January 18, 2014 at 1:17 am #

    Ahh, ok I was worried for a minute. Would it be a re buy if you own it on Kindle or an upload update?

    • chrishanger January 18, 2014 at 1:18 am #

      Depends in how everything goes. I will probably have it inserted to replace the original version, but amazon will have to be convinced to replace the old copies with the new.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  3. The Deposed King January 18, 2014 at 11:54 am #

    you didn’t explain very much, as in the technical details, of pre-node, node assembling technology the Marines brought with them. Now I hate the tech details myself (the writing not the reading so much unless it gets boring), so I’m not saying this is a must, just an area that could be addressed.

    The Deposed King

    • chrishanger January 18, 2014 at 11:58 pm #

      I don’t like the tech details . Besides the empire is regressing so it makes sense not to get too fancy.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  4. Austin January 18, 2014 at 4:53 pm #

    I’ll reread the book sometime soon. The only thing I can say at the moment, is change all occurrences of “clip” to magazine in firearms context. Yes, I’m picky about these things. Sue me.

    • chrishanger January 18, 2014 at 7:25 pm #

      Better you tell me now then someone else tell me later. Chris > Date: Sat, 18 Jan 2014 16:53:18 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

      • Austin January 24, 2014 at 4:51 am #

        Most of the way through rereading it. Not many major complaints beyond some stuff an editor would pick up. I would have preferred you use the Oxford Comma in lists since it’s confusing at times, but that’s a stylistic choice. I’ll let you know anything else once I’m finished.

      • Austin January 25, 2014 at 6:06 am #

        Just finished. Again, very good and not all that much that wouldn’t be caught with a good edit. You might want to map out the major events to make sure travel times match up. The Civil Guard seemed to get to the capital pretty fast during the final battle.

      • chrishanger January 25, 2014 at 5:18 pm #

        Cool! Thank you Chris > Date: Sat, 25 Jan 2014 06:06:36 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

  5. Yuri January 23, 2014 at 5:33 am #

    Why rewrite perfectly fine book? I started with Empire Corps and liked it so that I am now buying all your books. Perhaps good professional edit is a goodness for future readers, but rewriting?… As much as I’ll enjoy rereading (I would probably read it again sometime in any case), I think that it is a bit confusing to have multiple versions of the same book – as soon as you make it public, it is no longer yours, it’s history 🙂 Better write something new and exciting using all this experience. Start a new series if you must (as much as I enjoy this one and want it to continue…). Just a personal opinion. Good luck anyway!

    • chrishanger January 23, 2014 at 4:18 pm #

      My original intention was to have a professional edit. As the edited chapters piled up, I started to realise that editing the entire book would be a major headache and plenty of things would be lost along the way. It might be considerably simpler, I thought, to rewrite the book from scratch (which would have the added advantage of using everything I’d learned in the 2 or so years since writing the first version.) If I put the new version on kindle, I’d ask amazon to replace the old version completely (so everyone who bought a copy of V.1 would get V.2 at no extra cost.) Chris > Date: Thu, 23 Jan 2014 05:33:10 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

Leave a Reply

