Updates…

23 Oct

Hi, everyone – just a quick post to catch up with everything.

I’ve finished the first draft of Reality Check (The Empire’s Corps VII) and it should be online by next Monday. It is a stand-alone, but ties into both When The Bough Breaks and the upcoming mainstream Retreat Hell.

I’m still outlining the next few stand-alone books for the universe. I currently have a police-themed story, an immigration-themed story and Ed Stalker’s origin story. What other themes should I explore? I also intend to do one that returns to Belinda (last seen in When The Bough Breaks), but I’m still looking for a plot. Part of the problem is that I want the stand-alones to … well, stand alone and that gets harder the more I draw the disparate elements together.

My plan is to start writing Democracy’s Might next, then a completely new story. I’m caught between several different ideas. For one, I have an interstellar carrier in a universe at war; for another, I have demonic-magic in the modern world. And then there is the Nazi Civil War idea – alternate history did astonishingly well last time, perhaps I should try it again.

After that, I intend to write the fourth book of Schooled in Magic; Work Experience.

Any suggestions and comments are, of course, welcome.

Chris

9 Responses to “Updates…”

  1. Daniel Silver October 23, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

    I think another alternative history would be great, it did so well last time and I thought was one of your best books.

  2. That Guy October 23, 2013 at 10:42 pm #

    Nazi Civil War or Demonic Magic sounds awesome. Looking forward to reading whatever you decide to write.

  3. Alves October 25, 2013 at 2:00 am #

    I actually prefer mainline empire corps books, or to see the stand alone books tie in the mainline plot.

    • Daniel Silver October 25, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

      The stand alone books do tie into the mainline plot, at the very end of the books.

      • chrishanger October 25, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

        As the story advances, most of them will start tying into the mainstream. Sameena’s work, for example, has already impinged on the mainline series. More will be coming soon. Chris > Date: Fri, 25 Oct 2013 11:57:19 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

  4. Mike Atraides November 5, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

    I would love to see a pure Navy Plot (being an old Navy Puke myself). Something along the lines of the Spthead and Nore mutinies or the mutinies in the Imperial German Navy towards the end of WW I set against the backdrop of the Empire falling could be a fascinating story. And yaay for the police-themed story, that sounds promising.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

