The Empire’s Corps–Update

4 Aug

Hi, everyone – we had a great time in the UK. I spent more than I probably should have done on books, but you just can’t find proper second-hand bookshops in Malaysia. (There’s a great one in Korea, but it’s a bit far to go just for new reading matter. Thank God for electronic books.) Anyway, we got back safely last week and I’ve spent most of my time writing To The Shores, which is the next mainline book in TEC. I hope to have it up on Kindle midway through August. After that, I intend to write Bookworm II – and after that … well, I’m not sure yet.

What I do want to discuss is the next set of non-mainstream books for TEC. I’ve had a set of ideas for them and I’d like to know which ones you’d like to see first.

First To Fight – basically, this is Edward Stalker’s origin story. How he came to the Terran Marine Corps, his training and his first deployment against the Empire’s enemies.

The Shavetail – a newly-commissioned officer from the Imperial Army is sent to take command of a small unit on a planet on the verge of civil war – much to the horror of his NCO. Several people have asked for a story focused on the uprising on Han and this might be it, although I’m not sure yet. This story was not intended to be cheerful.

Culture Shock – a group of refugees from a highly-communal society are dumped on a planet governed by a very different ideology. Chaos results. Generally, I wanted to compare the two different forms of society – and also highlight their strengths and weaknesses.

Knives in the Dark – with Earth gone and the Empire in chaos, a lone Imperial Marshal stumbles across a deadly plan to take advantage of the chaos … and is forced to question where his loyalties’ really lie.

Alcatraz – the key to a missing space fleet lies with a former Imperial Navy Admiral, condemned to a penal world. Belinda Lawson may be the only person who can recover him, but no one comes home from Alcatraz …

Hard Lessons – a group of teenage schoolchildren from Earth are stranded on a colonial world and forced to fend for themselves. Think Lord of the Flies …

Marine Corpse – someone is killing entire worlds and the only people who can track them down are the most enigmatic Marines left in the Empire …

Anyway, which one do you want?

Chris

36 Responses to “The Empire’s Corps–Update”

  1. Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard August 4, 2013 at 1:32 am #

    Didn’t like “Lord of the Flies” but would be interested in your take.

    • chrishanger August 4, 2013 at 2:39 pm #

      I didn’t like it much either, but it should probably be required reading It’s astonishing how easily civilisation can be slipped away. Chris > Date: Sun, 4 Aug 2013 00:32:05 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

  2. Keith Douglas August 4, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    I would like to read The Shavetail. If it was about The Han, or one of the other Core Worlds, there would be a nice contrast/filler between what happened to Earth and what is happening in the Outer Rim. The premis for both Knives in the Dark and Alcatraz, however, would both work for me.

    The Stalker origin story might be better to be released around Christmas. Whilst it would be interesting to read (and I would) it is not of the current continuity. Marine Corpse sounds good too but I can’t help but think it would be better later in the series. The post imperial reality needs a harder re-birth.

  3. Terry Edmunds August 4, 2013 at 7:39 pm #

    would like to see you continue First to Fight…one of my favorites now.

    • chrishanger August 5, 2013 at 10:21 am #

      It would be a bit like Starship Troopers, I think, at least in general outline.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

  4. Terry Edmunds August 4, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    furthermore about First to Fight…I don’t want another john chrisian falkenberg series that Jerry Pournelle did and never finished up…still disappointed

  5. That Guy August 4, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

    I think I’d have to vote for Hard Lessons, but it’s an incredibly hard choice. I’d love to see any of these.

    • chrishanger August 5, 2013 at 10:19 am #

      I hope to write all of them. I just wanted to see what people wanted first.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

  6. James Caplan August 5, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    Chris,
    Those choices are equally attractive to me. What I am really looking forward to are more mainstream TEC stories and the sequels to the Democracy series.

    • chrishanger August 6, 2013 at 1:38 am #

      Glad to hear it . I’m working on TEC6 now; Democracy’s Might will probably be along in a few months, depending on sales. Chris > Date: Mon, 5 Aug 2013 13:41:29 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

  7. Rui Ramos August 5, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

    As a fan of your books I would say: do’em all! But since you asked to select one my choice would be: “Culture Shock “.

    • chrishanger August 6, 2013 at 1:38 am #

      I will – I just wanted to know which one should come first. One vote for Culture Shock. Now I just have to design both societies. Chris > Date: Mon, 5 Aug 2013 13:50:51 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

  8. Brian August 5, 2013 at 8:21 pm #

    I also think that all sound interesting…. but Culture Shock narrowly edges the others out.

    I’d also wonder about Stalker building very small dispatch/sigint boats to go out and see what the heck is going on out there. Like visiting Earth and other Core worlds plus Slaughterhouse to get a peek. No contact/physical contact, just Signal Intercept stuff.

    • chrishanger August 6, 2013 at 1:40 am #

      Cool! Another vote for CS It needs a medium-sized ship to make it to Earth without refuelling along the way – Sameena is more likely to do it, although you’re right – Ed should certainly think about it. Chris > Date: Mon, 5 Aug 2013 19:21:51 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

  9. henrymowry August 7, 2013 at 7:42 am #

    I would love to see a follow up to Semper Fi’s plot. Marine Corpse, perhaps? More marines, definitely! If you’re going to connect the threads of the various story lines in this universe, great. I’m more interested in looking forward rather than looking backwards, personally.

  10. Bob Costello August 12, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    I think the story of the young Emperor was left in limbo and needs to be re-integrated with the rest of the arc. In any case, I eagerly look forward to more TEC books.

    • chrishanger August 14, 2013 at 6:36 am #

      I certainly intend to return to Roland at some point, but he doesn’t want to return to being Emperor (and probably wouldn’t be accepted by the remains of the Empire if he did.) Chris > Date: Mon, 12 Aug 2013 12:51:29 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

      • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard August 14, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

        One thing I’ve been thinking about “The Empire’s Corps” and Roland is that in earlier works of yours, you had Avalon with a Monarch. While you could be “just reusing” names, I wonder if the Empire’s Corps Avalon would become a Kingdom by “drafting” Roland. [Grin]

      • chrishanger August 15, 2013 at 12:46 pm #

        I did reuse quite a few names, sadly, before The Empire’s Corps took off on Kindle. (Which may be part of SH’s problem with my work.) If I put that series to Kindle (or it gets picked up (fingers crossed)) there will have to be a great deal of editing. I’d like to play more with it because I wanted to go in a very different direction. The Empire’s history doesn’t suggest that a monarchy would be very useful, even if it was welcome. (It wouldn’t be; Roland would get a lot of the blame for the disaster even though it wasn’t remotely his fault.) A decentralised federal union would have less use for a monarch. . Chris > Date: Wed, 14 Aug 2013 12:20:39 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

      • Paul (Drak Bibliophile) Howard August 15, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

        I’ll admit that I thought of some scenes of Roland arguing against a Monarchy. [Smile]

      • chrishanger August 15, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

        He might . Particularly if they tried to plug him onto the throne. # Chris > Date: Thu, 15 Aug 2013 12:02:41 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

  11. raymond August 18, 2013 at 10:04 am #

    I would like to read first to fight and the shavetail. I would love to know more about slaughterhouse in detail and if you are doing shavetail instead of a new guy can you write about jasmine, Blake and Joe. Throughout TEC they keep telling their experience in Hans I would love to read about them if you are going to write on Hans

    • chrishanger August 19, 2013 at 10:14 am #

      Well, the idea for Shavetail was that it would look at the army rather than the Marines – very different culture there. Han … I could write it, but it would also have to live up (down) to its reputation. I’ll give that some thought. Chris > Date: Sun, 18 Aug 2013 09:04:28 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

  12. Daniel Silver August 21, 2013 at 1:19 am #

    My vote would be for Alcatraz, it would be good to learn more about the Navy and what it’s like.

    Knives in the Dark also sounds interesting, is an Imperial Marshal a high ranking officer like a Field Marshal or a law enforcement person like a US Marshal?

    • chrishanger August 21, 2013 at 7:10 am #

      Law-enforcement guy, basically. Think of him as an FBI agent, but with a wide remit. Chris > Date: Wed, 21 Aug 2013 00:19:33 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

      • Daniel Silver August 24, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

        I would really like to hear about that then. I think it would add a lot to the series and it would be interesting to get your views on law enforcement.

      • chrishanger August 25, 2013 at 8:50 am #

        Cool! I hope it lives up to your hopes. Chris > Date: Sat, 24 Aug 2013 15:31:12 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

  13. raymond wirth December 13, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    what happened to retreat hell? can’t find it anywhere and the list says “comming soon”

  14. R Godfrey November 28, 2014 at 4:11 pm #

    A year later but what the heck, what ever happened to Culture Shock, would be interesting to see your take.

    • chrishanger November 28, 2014 at 6:27 pm #

      It’s on the way.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      >

Leave a Reply

