Writing Updates

23 May

Hi, everyone

I’m currently working my way towards the denouncement of A Study In Slaughter and I intend to start work on The Outcast, which will be the fifth book in The Empire’s Corps. It will be another stand-alone story, like When the Bough Breaks, but it will lead directly into the next mainstream book.

Naming that book has proved more of a problem than plotting it. I want something Marine-themed, but I haven’t been able to think of something that fits. I’m currently leaning towards RETREAT HELL, but it isn’t quite suitable. Any suggestions will be welcome.

I’m also working on the plot for First To Fight, which will be Edward Stalker’s origin story – generally, the story of how he became a Marine and of his first operation.

My current plan is to write RETREAT HELL after I get back from the UK in July, so there should be two TEC books on the way. After that … I need to take a careful look at the overall arc before plotting the book after that.

Hope to see you there.

Chris

9 Responses to “Writing Updates”

  1. Preston Crow May 24, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

    I’m not sure how to say this, but I REALLY mean it to be helpful rather than critical. I just started reading Semper Fi. The title was the hook; I am a Marine. I’ll limit my comment to a Marine’s (my) view of what you wrote. If Marine Corps terminology was intended, then this is why it rings false: to paraphrase another great writer, “you got the words right, but the music is wrong.”

    (I am leaving the “Notify me’s” below blank. You can if you want, but I don’t want to waist your time.)

    Thanks,

  2. Pamela May 26, 2013 at 6:10 am #

    Mr. Nuttall, I’ve just left a ‘Fantastic!” review of Empire’s Corps for you on amazon and have downloaded the rest of the series available – already started No Worse Enemy. Thank you so much. I love it and I will pass the word

    Pamela

    • chrishanger May 26, 2013 at 9:54 am #

      Thank you! If you don’t mind me asking, which blog pointed you towards my work? Thanks Chris > Date: Sun, 26 May 2013 05:10:18 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

      • Pamela May 26, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

        http://www.theblogmocracy.com – a poster whose nic is lobo91. I don’t know his name – we’ve never corresponded outside the blog e.g. email. I know he has a military background (as do quite a few people there) and he is an NRA certified firearms instructor (I’m there as ‘eaglesoars’)

        I started No Worse Enemy yesterday.

      • chrishanger May 27, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

        Cool! Thank him for me, please Chris > Date: Sun, 26 May 2013 22:21:17 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

  3. god May 27, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

    a couple suggestions total war, the march through hell, baby G, no way out, the new empire,anarchy way

  4. Ben Hartley May 28, 2013 at 7:24 pm #

    From the May 23 post:

    “…I’m currently working my way towards the denouncement of A Study In Slaughter…”

    er… do you perhaps mean “denouement?” (Doggone ferschlugginer spell check programs! I turned auto-correct OFF a long time ago.)

Leave a Reply

