Outcast Updates–and Moving

30 Mar

Hi, everyone

There will be a slight delay on production of Semper Fi, owing to us moving from KK to Kuala Lumpur tomorrow. I spent the day packing up the car – it’s astonishing how much junk we acuminated over the last year, even discounting my colossal number of books (God help us if we ever have to empty the family home in Edinburgh.) Now all I have to is worry about the stuff in the car until it is shipped to KL after us.

So I’m tired and stressed and resolving not to do it again (or at least buy more ebooks instead of just writing them …)

Anyway, I had something more important to mention than just whining <grin>

Previously, I posted a snipped on my blog entitled The Outcast, the first part of a side-story set in The Empire’s Corps universe. In it, a young girl – her parents and brother unjustly arrested by a very unpleasant government – flees her home. One version of the story would have sent her into space to join the Traders; the other would have had her becoming a Marine. I’d actually like to write both stories.

Obviously, they’re not compatible – I may do a different story on the training of the Terran Marine Corps.

Thoughts?

Incidentally, I hope you enjoyed my first political commentary – and thanks for the comments. You can now find it on my site.  The next one, I hope, will be reflections on the British involvement in Iraq.

Chris

11 Responses to “Outcast Updates–and Moving”

  1. Ken Rought April 2, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

    She could join the marines and then later muster out and become a trader :-).

  2. Yuri April 4, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    I’d love to read both.

  3. patdailey June 14, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

    I’d love to see a story about training of the Marines, a la Starship Troopers by HEinline.

    • chrishanger June 15, 2013 at 9:02 am #

      I’m planning to do that as Captain Stalker’s origin story. How does that sound? Chris > Date: Fri, 14 Jun 2013 15:40:43 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

      • patdailey June 17, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

        Great! 13 years in the Army, Airborne school and Ranger school are the reason I like the training angle. The motto is “You train harder than you fight”. Heinlein got it right. He was career Navy, so he knows the importance of training on shaping the soldier.

        I guess Ender’s Game is another good example the importance of training.

      • chrishanger June 19, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

        Cool! I do plan to write a book covering Marine training – basically, Edward’s origin story – so if you have any comments or suggestions, they’d be very welcome. Chris > Date: Mon, 17 Jun 2013 21:50:14 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

      • patdailey June 26, 2013 at 11:00 pm #

        I don’t know if you have any military background, but those who don’t tend to present the training NCOs as brutal morons. It is just the opposite. They are the most professional men in the service. They have the job of turning spoiled civilians into soldiers that can fight as a team, follow orders, think for themselves and take over when the chain of command is destroyed.

        These NCOs have to do things that seem stupid but they all have a reason. I once had an NCO in Jump School make me mow the grass around a bench by picking it with my fingers. I was goofing off waiting for my turn in the jump tower(on the ground). The lesson was always keep your head in the game. Watch what is happening around you and learn.

      • chrishanger June 27, 2013 at 8:08 am #

        That’s something I definitely intend to avoid, although they might not LOOK very good from the POV of the new recruits. I plan to follow the same basic style as The Outcast. How does that sound? Chris > Date: Wed, 26 Jun 2013 22:00:49 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

      • patdailey July 12, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

        Great. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

