A More Realistic Atlas Shrugged?

7 Jan

I was reading a discussion on Atlas Shrugged and Objectivism in particular and it occurred to me that Rand’s doorstopper of a book had the right general idea (it’s hard to argue when you look at British Rail, or the growth in government bureaucratise) but it tended to take it too far. And then I started wondering …

John Galt is the mayor of a rural area or the governor of a single American state (we can sort of the exact details later). He and his party have near-complete control over the state; they rewrite the laws to prevent the decay of the country, at least in their state. Zero-tolerance policies for crime, limited interference (if any) in business, common sense laws, etc, etc. Francisco (the guy with the very long name) could be a businessman who moves his entire company into the state. The pirate could be a renegade (someone who believes in fighting the Feds, maybe a borderline terrorist) or someone who believes that they will have to fight sooner or later.

Dagny and Eddie might be ‘only sane men’ in government, trying to keep the overall country running. The ‘strike’ might be people moving to Galt-land rather than actually vanishing.

The basic point of Atlas Shrugged was that society had to be maintained to make it work (i.e. you have to do maintenance on your rails or you start having disasters.) That’s something the West seems to have forgotten how to do these days. Galt could be actually trying to do something about it. Actually, as wealth flows into Galt-land, the states bordering it will have to alter their own laws, or risk losing their own businesses and law-abiding citizens. This might set off the crisis in a more realistic manner.

Thoughts?

Chris

26 Responses to “A More Realistic Atlas Shrugged?”

  1. Terry Edmunds January 7, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

    Actually sounds a bit like Texas today …though I am not from there….might be the basis for a good story…???

    • chrishanger January 7, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

      Could be . I just had an idea… Chris > Date: Mon, 7 Jan 2013 13:53:48 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

      • Terry Edmunds January 7, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

        If you write about Texas better get an advisor FROM Texas…it’s a different state for sure!! 🙂 Hope my idea works for you!

      • chrishanger January 9, 2013 at 3:10 am #

        Problem is – Texas has been done (by Tom Kratman). Not the same idea, but close enough . Coming to think of it, Molen Labe touched on the same idea. But then, it was a very poorly written book. Chris > Date: Mon, 7 Jan 2013 18:06:56 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

      • Terry Edmunds January 9, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

        Yea, you are right….I read that Kratman book now that I think of it. OH well, it was a stray thought…Texas IS the single most conservative state in the union so it popped to mind first.

      • chrishanger January 10, 2013 at 9:14 am #

        George suggested looking at the Free State project. Might be a cool story if done properly. Chris > Date: Wed, 9 Jan 2013 16:44:43 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

      • Terry Edmunds January 10, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

        The reverse of the free state project is a reality where I live. I live in downstate Illinois and Chicago nee Cook County run the state of Illinois. They tax the crap out of us and the money goes to Chicago that has the population but not a tax base.

  2. Terry Edmunds January 9, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

    P.S. My CO from Nam lives in San Antionio and my Platoon Sgt lives in Houston and those boys are definitely conservative!! 🙂

    • Sithicus January 13, 2013 at 2:09 am #

      As a matter of fact I did enjoyed “Molon Labe” and “Unintended Consequences” by John Ross – maybe because I’m a bit gung-ho
      myself. The whole premise beyond “Atlas Shrugged” was more
      sound at the time when the book was written, nowadays world is
      much smaller place and various governments have much better
      means to control and invigilate their population. Lets face the fact
      that the people are less independent and more likely to believe
      what the government tells them and what they’ll see on TV.
      I anxiously await your take on the subject.

      • Terry Edmunds January 13, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

        Illinois is one of 7 states or so that have more people on welfare than work. It’s unsustainable … as for means to control..consider this, our Fed Govt is seriously considering flying DRONES over America…talk about big brother. Might be something for you to consider in your next book. Currently 80% thru “under foot”. Am loving it but the aliens are really making me angry!!! and the collaborators…but I think you have what would happen right on the $$. Too many in this country are all about power over others, no matter the cost to my beloved USA. That includes our current leaders in DC. MOre to follow, Chris when I am done with this book. I truly appreciate your taking me into your confidence.

      • chrishanger January 15, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

        All suggestions are welcome.

        Chris

        Sent from my iPad

      • Terry Edmunds January 15, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

        ok, Here ya go…based on today’s headlines…American Civil War #2…but it’s not the north against the south…it’s the progressives against the heartland…progressives have gotten the ammendment limiting the president’s term removed thru hook or crook…Congress is just a rubber stamp and the US is ruled thru executive fiat from the president/dictator. Guns have been confiscated (but not all) Drones are flying watching like Big Brother..people who have guns disappear into the American gulags…a new gestapo under heartland security?
        has been created by the progressives to keep them in power and the American Military is loath as always to overrule civilian control. But finally a group of retired American Special forces have had enough and start the 2d Civil War?

        Currently they are trying to take away our guns despite the second ammendment and it will be done thru executive orders/they are planning on flying drones over US soil/camera’s are everywhere/registered gun owner are made out to be criminals and only criminals will have weapons if the progressives have their way. They don’t trust veterans like me…we are loose cannons in their eyes today.

        Some ideas for ya, Chris

      • chrishanger January 25, 2013 at 10:19 am #

        It would be cool, but it doesn’t quite fit in with the AS idea. I might do it as something separate.

        Chris

        Sent from my iPad

      • Terry Edmunds January 25, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

        Roger that. Carry on, young troop!! 🙂

      • chrishanger January 27, 2013 at 7:36 am #

        Well, I have half a plot in mind. Just not sure how I’m going to end it. Might go for something like ‘The Trigger’ – the immedate threat is ended, but a genie is now out of the bottle. Chris > Date: Fri, 25 Jan 2013 13:45:13 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

      • Terry Edmunds January 28, 2013 at 1:15 pm #

        OK dokey, Chris…I will be interested to see where this takes you. 🙂

      • chrishanger January 15, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

        Cool! I’ll have to think of a workable plot, maybe find a collaborator with more local knowledge.

        Chris

        Sent from my iPad

  3. Sithicus January 17, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    Let me know when you’ll want some information and scenarios for asymmetric warfare.

    • chrishanger January 19, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

      Cool! I will.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      • Terry Edmunds January 22, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

        Chris, check out this website. https://www.popvox.com/bills/us/113/hjres15 I am shocked. There actually is a proposed bill in congress to remove the 22d Ammendment to the Constitution which limits presidential terms to two. They want to make it unlimited; My previous emails are not too far off it seems. Believe me I didn’t know about this until this morning. I cannot imagine congress passing it and I THINK it would require ratification by the states but who the hell knows anymore??? As a concerned citizen of America and a veteran, this is NOT what I fought for.

  4. Terry Edmunds January 18, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

    think you have the makings for a novel here Chris…we all would be thrilled to help if it works out. If not, we had fun anyhow!

    • chrishanger January 19, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

      Cool! I will take you up on that.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      • Terry Edmunds January 22, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

        Chris, did some follow up research on the bill to revoke the 22nd amendment. It’s not really a serious attempt or at least a new attempt. The same Dem Representative from NY has been introducing it for the past 8 years more or less. Also it would take 3/4s of the states to ratify it and that’s not going to happen. Nevertheless I am amazed that some people are so power crazed. And might still fit the scenario for a new book if you go that direction.

      • chrishanger January 23, 2013 at 2:04 am #

        That’s a relief…still, I can’t see what he gets out of it, unless he wants to be President himself. If it started then, it would be during the Bush years.

        Might well work it in somewhere, though.

        Chris

        Sent from my iPad

  5. Terry Edmunds January 19, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

    Also just to be clear, I don’t endorse the so called militia’s either…nor the survivalists…I would make ordinary people the focus of the story if you do write it. I threw out the special forces assn out there, though I was not one, cause I know they are tight. But most vets that I know love this country and would do most anything to preserve it.

    • chrishanger January 19, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

      I will certainly try to do that – I just need to think hard about how to make the story work.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

