Happy New Year!

31 Dec

Dear Readers

Happy New Year!

2012 has been a thoroughly strange year. I lost my grandmother – one of the early influences on my writing career – in late 2011, then endured what was effectively a mental breakdown for several months. Writing helped to keep me sane. So did my wife, Aisha, who encouraged me to move to Kota Kinabalu to live with her. And since I had lost my job, I took her advice.

And I am very glad that I did. Living here has made me feel a new man.

There have been several pieces of good news in the latter half of this year. First, I have signed contracts with Elsewhen Press for four of my novels. The Royal Sorceress is already out in Kindle form (free samples on my site) and will be out in paperback in February. It will be followed by Bookworm, Sufficiently Advanced Technology and Dizzy Spells. Bookworm, ideally, will be out in Kindle with the paperback of The Royal Sorceress, with the paperback in May. No details on the latter two release dates yet – watch this space.

The second piece of good news is that Kindle has been doing very well – thanks to everyone who bought my books and particularly those who left reviews. (And a very big THANK YOU to everyone who emailed me with spelling corrections. I have been updating the later books as I go along.) I had a wonderful moment on Christmas Day of discovering that I was at 35 in the Kindle books – and David Weber was at 34. It didn’t last, but it was a thrill.

My current plans are to finish Lessons in Etiquette, which is the sequel to Schooled in Magic, and then take a break – we’re travelling to Korea for two weeks in January. After that, I’m not sure if I want to write the concluding part of Outside Context Problem or When the Bough Breaks, which is effectively Book 3 in The Empire’s Corps series. In some ways, it may seem a side-show, but it is actually quite important to the overall arc as it marks the complete collapse of the Empire – after that, it is every planet for itself.

Let me know what you want, ok? <grin>

After that … well, I’m not quite sure. I have an idea set in 1940 where WW2 becomes magical – well, there are magicians helping both sides in the war. After that … well, I don’t really know. I do want to rewrite the When the Empire Falls trilogy at some point, but it might well become confused with The Empire’s Corps. And there are a couple of other older ideas I want to play with.

Several people – you know who you are <grin> – have asked about signed books. Right now, I’m not going to be visiting the UK for several months, but I will try to organise signing and mailing a number of books. Watch my blog and facebook page – it will be announced there.

But leave that for the moment. We’d like to wish all of my readers a happy new year.

Christopher and Aisha Nuttall

6 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. thelyniezian January 1, 2013 at 12:52 am #

    Happy new year Chris! Hope the writing is successful…

  2. Anon Lurker January 1, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

    Happy New Year!
    Also really enjoyed your posts at spacebattles.

    From all the dedicated lurkers who won’t post there – Thank you.

  3. Abraham January 19, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    Hey Cris, I’ve been loving the Empires Corps! keep em coming!

    • chrishanger January 19, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

      Thank you! Book 3 should be coming in feb or early march.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

