Shared/Collaborative World

28 Apr

An idea I’ve been developing over the past few months is a shared universe where several people write stories set in the same universe. Each story would be stand alone, but it would also be part of an overall series about the rebirth of society and the triumph of the human determination to succeed over stagnation and outright racism. The universe of the Imperium is very much a crapsack universe.

The general background is that humanity’s vast empire (dominating thousands of alien races) is stagnating and slowly coming apart at the seams. Basically, the Late Roman Empire, although I intend to go through a First Triumvirate, civil wars, rise of a first citizen and eventual reform. Most of the stories will be set around people trying to hold back the decline and fall of civilisation – a version of Pompey, a Bruce Wayne-type character who is an operative for Imperial Intelligence, a reporter embedded in an Imperial Marine unit putting down a rebellion…

Obviously, with such a vast canvas, there is plenty of ground for expansion and stories.

Would people be interested in a) contributing parts of the background, and b) contributing stories?

Chris

2 Responses to “Shared/Collaborative World”

  1. The Deposed King May 2, 2012 at 2:19 am #

    Well you know me chris, I can help with background. On the other hand I’m not that big on short stories. So I don’t know.

    Lets see if a lot more people want to get in, then I might reconsider. Its just that writing a short story is different from a novel. Plus as a personal peeve, I don’t like to start in the middle of a series and I don’t like short stories. Although I have and do make exceptions.

    Although I do have a quesiton. Why is humanity dominating this late era roman empire? Couldn’t they do just as well, as one of the romanized barbarian peoples like the Franks. Who ended up holding their territory and seizing more, eventually building France out of the remains of the empire.

    Stick with the racism and such. Just have the humans both being persecuted and to some extent persecuting. Make some strictly non-violent race, like Ringo’s Indy that build things. And have lots of people persecute them for failing to protect themselves from even minor assualts, let along genocidal attacks.

    The Deposed King

    • chrishanger May 2, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

      Well, I have written one where the humans are the underdogs…

      But personally I think the story would be a great deal more interesting with a human empire. And I had the idea, I admit, for the stories before I came up with the background.

      Chris

Leave a Reply

