Quick Updates

25 Jan

Hi, everyone

I’m currently 28 chapters into Retreat Hell, which is Book 8 of The Empire’s Corps. It’s going harder than I expected, partly because this is the point where the mainstream storyline becomes even less self-contained than it already is. The previous books dealt with single events; this book sets up at least three more books, rather than disposing of a problem within one book. It is actually quite a fascinating problem to keep everything balanced so both the micro and macro storylines move along smoothly. I’m hoping it will come out fairly well.

Ark Royal has done extremely well in its first set of sales and I’ve had numerous demands for a sequel, so I’m currently planning one called The Nelson Touch. The trick, of course, will be to keep the focus on the characters while expanding the storyline. Still, I have several months to plan it out properly.

My current list of projects runs something like this. Learning Experience next, I think, depending on the plotline. Then The Royal Sorceress III: Necropolis, or Schooled in Magic V: The School of Hard Knocks. (I’ve actually got to conceptually-edit SIM IV before progressing to SIM V, so that might be delayed.) After that, I think I will do either The Nelson Touch or Democracy’s Price (Democracy III). If you want something earlier, please let me know.

I’m also working out a more detailed set of plotlines for alternate history stories. One would be a sequel to The Invasion of 1950, one would be a civil war in Nazi Germany at roughly 1980 or thereabouts. I don’t see Nazi Germany collapsing peacefully, not when the contradictions of the regime come home to roost. Besides, civil wars are more interesting than peaceful collapses.

I’m also looking at my older projects and wondering which of them might be suitable for Kindle.

There just aren’t enough days in the year to write everything I want to write. <sigh>

Comments are, as always, welcome.

Chris

34 Responses to “Quick Updates”

  1. Terry January 25, 2014 at 6:49 pm #

    Chris you have gotten better with each publication…keep it up. Don’t worry about the timing, though I can hardly wait, concentrate on keeping the quality because that’s your legacy….hi

  2. Terry January 25, 2014 at 6:50 pm #

    your legacy…high quality sci fi….sorry about hitting the wrong button! :)

  3. Thomas January 25, 2014 at 7:01 pm #

    I’m looking forward to Royal Sorceress: Necropolis. Just re-read the first two and have been in a fantasy mood with my reading lately.

  4. Daniel Silver January 25, 2014 at 11:08 pm #

    I would personally like to see The Nelson Touch earlier, as well as the sequel to 1950.

  5. Austin January 26, 2014 at 1:50 am #

    There aren’t enough days in the year to read all your stuff. No clue how you write it.

  6. L.R.S.F January 26, 2014 at 3:40 am #

    i really like Democracys Right trilogy and cant wait for Democracys Price, that cliffhanger at the end i hated you so much. Ark Royal its another good Story. I kind of Stoped Reading the Empire Corps at the 5th Book i was a little upset about the Rape stuff overall but either why i love your work. Thank you very much for the Fun reads.

  7. Tim January 26, 2014 at 6:50 am #

    (In his best imitation of a line from The 13th Warrior): Write faster!

    *GRIN*

  8. Yuri January 26, 2014 at 6:49 pm #

    Please don’t push TEC 9 too far away… :) – I love this series.

  9. Ray Gibbs January 27, 2014 at 6:43 am #

    So I’m curious if you are planning on releasing anything else in the Inverse Shadows universe? That book was really interesting. Also I am looking forward to book three of the Royal Sorceress series. Thanks for all the great stories.

  10. Charlie Thurman January 27, 2014 at 11:28 pm #

    Chris, I think the series “When the Empire Falls” could be a great Kindle series.

  11. Zack DeMoss January 28, 2014 at 5:29 am #

    Chris, I just finished Ark Royal, it took 2 days, could not stop reading, hell its 12:30am now. You have produced a fine work of art, and cannot wait for the sequel. Until then ill be catching up on your other books. There are so many directions you can take this, the book is worth a movie IMO. Keep it up, as others have said, dont rush, just keep producing quality work. Ive already suggested the book to some other friends of mine.

    • chrishanger January 28, 2014 at 5:40 pm #

      Thank you! Please leave a review on Amazon if you could. I’m planning to have the next TEC book up in a week or so, then probably Learning Experience. Chris > Date: Tue, 28 Jan 2014 05:29:11 +0000 > To: christopher_g_nuttall@hotmail.com >

  12. Scott Shuster January 30, 2014 at 12:26 am #

    Hello Chris,
    just found your books by accident. I am a long time Military SciFi fan (Jerry Pournelle, David Drake, David Webber, John Ringo, SM Stirling, etc). I just finished your first Empire’s Corps book. I loved it. It was very much in the style of Jerry Pournelle’s CoDominium series – but not a copy, very good work. I bought the second book, but am delaying the read – because – I just downloaded “When the Empire Falls.”

    I am looking forward to enjoying your books. Keep it up. And, yes, I left a review on Amazon.

    Regards,
    Scott

  13. Tom Rasey January 31, 2014 at 11:51 am #

    Ark Royal – great as always. I “found” your books a few months ago and I have been going through them at an encredible rate. Keep up the good work and keep the coming!

  14. Rabib February 1, 2014 at 5:03 pm #

    I just finished Ark Royal and enjoyed it, I will be reading your other books while patiently waiting for the next Ark Royal book.

    • chrishanger February 2, 2014 at 11:13 pm #

      Thank you!

      More coming soon.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  15. Bob Trumpis February 2, 2014 at 4:17 am #

    I just finished Ark Royal. It has the potential to equal the White/ Weber books. Please put some preference on the next in THE SERIES.

    • chrishanger February 2, 2014 at 11:09 pm #

      I’m going to start book Ii in late February.

      Chris

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  16. Miles Barber February 3, 2014 at 6:46 pm #

    Just finished Ark Royal, very enjoyable read, more please.

  17. Andy Coysh February 5, 2014 at 12:50 pm #

    Off on beach holiday first half of May 2014, so it would be nice to have 3 or 4 new ones to take with me please Chris!
    Just joking (almost), congrats on Kindle placing, you deserve it and much more.

  18. Bernard Brunner February 26, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

    Just finished Retreat Hell. Great read as always. I would like to have a printable copy of the afterword.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

